Oracle Homes

Jeremy M.

Jeremy M.

Well Known Member
I am new to using the Red Stack. I am experiencing some issues and wanted to find out how others handle these problems. I am running everything on Windows 2008 64-bit. My Enterprise/Database/Web are all on the same box. I have installed Oracle 11g 11.1.0.7 for the DB and Oracle AS 10.1.3.4 for the Web. I installed both of these apps with the windows user JDE.

My first problem was I was unable to install the Platform Pack. I had to create system variables for ORACLE_HOME/ORACLE_SID/TNS_ADMIN. I also had to rearrange the PATH variable. Since I installed OAS last the OAS bin was listed first in the PATH variable. So, the Platform Pack was trying to connect to OAS and not the DB. I rearranged the PATH variable so the DB bin was listed first and I am now installing the Platform Pack.

How do others handle this? Do you use a different user to install each product and use User Variables? I am afraid my OAS will not work now.

Are there any other Red Stack tips from the wise?

Thanks!

[ QUOTE ]
I am new to using the Red Stack. I am experiencing some issues and wanted to find out how others handle these problems. I am running everything on Windows 2008 64-bit. My Enterprise/Database/Web are all on the same box.

[/ QUOTE ]

You just stated the problem - unless you are using VM ware or some very funky setup, your Enterprise/Database/Web should not all be on the same box. Enterprise and Database are fine together. Move the Web off to it's own box.

- Gregg

Alright... I will put the OAS on a different server.

Second question...