using a UBE to call an AS/400 CL program

mhootie

I want to call a CL program from an E1 menu. I'm told that a good way to do it is to have the CL program called from within a UBE. I'm not having any luck with the UBE. I'm using Execute External Program with this as the command string: SBMJOB CMD(CALL (TESTOBJ/J5934088)). I get a spooled file from the process with this message: Failed to find object SWAPUSER *LIBL.

Anyone know what's wrong?

Thanks,
Melissa

Melissa,
Check the library list of the USERID you executing this program from. Seems it does not have access to this library.

hope this helps.

Chan

Hi,

I am new to AS400, can you advice me any introduction to AS400 documents to start with.
Plz help

[ QUOTE ]
I want to call a CL program from an E1 menu. I'm told that a good way to do it is to have the CL program called from within a UBE. I'm not having any luck with the UBE. I'm using Execute External Program with this as the command string: SBMJOB CMD(CALL (TESTOBJ/J5934088)). I get a spooled file from the process with this message: Failed to find object SWAPUSER *LIBL.

Anyone know what's wrong?

Thanks,
Melissa

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm using that same business function for one of my processes (with parms to the program) and it is working fine on the AS/400. Where is the error message coming from, the Kernals? Can you check the Kernal to be sure you are not missing a bracket or something simple. Can you execute submit the string on a simple command line.

Inside the TEST/J5934088 does the program have all the libraries or job description information it needs. The JOBD of the Kernal might not have all the information it needs to submit the job. You might want to include more parms in the CL call, like a job description.

Rob