Real Time OneWorld to the Web Application

Ritch_TIFF

We are trying to determine a method to access and pass information on a real-time basis between JDE OneWorld on a AS/400 and SQL Box.... Does anyone have any ideas?

For example: The system at a store sends down a record to the SQL server an item number. When that record gets there I want to access JDE OneWorld to tell it the QOH, and send it back...REAL TIME.

I would really appreciate any help on this.

Thanks.
rhwingotif

I am not a complete expert on this whole process but I can provide some insight. You can define any type of datasource in Enterprise One whether it is DB2, Oracle, SQL ..etc. Therefore, you could define the SQL DB TABLE(s) directly. Then you could program a Oneword interface to process the data. I am not a developer so someone else could provide more info. Another way, is to get the data required on SQL and DTS specific data to a Oneworld table using ODBC (ADO, OLE DB...) connection.

Overall you would need a CNC, DBA and a developer to make this work the way you want.

There are LOTS of ways to do this. Can you define 'sends down a record'? How is all the communication done?

The point of sale system will write a record to the SQL server. For example the item number and store. It will want me to fill in the quantity available. We are using a AS/400 and the stores are using SQL servers.

Are the SQL Servers on the same network as the as/400? I know you can set up an ODBC connection from the SQL server box to the as/400. It seems the simplest thing would be to put a trigger on the sql server table that runs a program to read and calculate the available quantity from E1. I'm not sure how SQL server handles triggers though.