SQL Connection to iSeries?

mrfields

Hello,
I'm an accountant wanting to supply our IT dept with info on how to connect MS SQL Express to JDE. My research of this topic seems to show it's not an easy task. If anyone can provide some good info that I can pass on to the IT staff, I'd really appreciate it. This would benefit us highly. Here's the info about our IBM server and JDE program:
Model 520
OS version V5R4
JDE version A73.7 of World
Processor feature 7543

Why are you trying to connect the SQL databse to JDE? What are you trying to accomplish?

We want to use Microsoft sql to query jde data on the iseries. Currently, our end users are using a poor quality sql program called Viewpoint. We need to move to a more advanced sql program. These users already know ms sql, so naturally it's what we'd like to use.

the IBM POWER i system and JDE world connect easily to other architectures and systems in this heterogenous world. Several techniques are commercially available that enable you to join IBM data to MS SQL or other databases on other servers. Please let us know which one you select to use.
eric

Hello Eric,
The 2005 edition of "Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express" is installed on my pc. I'd like to establish an ODBC from MSSQL to our jde data on our iseries. This will allow us to write and execute queries. Making that connection is a bit outside of my abilities as an accountant. Our IT staff tried some too, but without success. Everyone I've spoken to prior to posting this topic says it's a difficult thing to connect.
Can you help me get connected?
Thanks!

Lookup how to create a linked server. I've had an issue trying to update data using a linked server but will be fine for inquiries.

Hi millsmik,
Can that be done through ""Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express?"
Thanks