OMW

Wkunneke

Wkunneke

Just venting a bit.

I came from a Microsoft background 3 years ago into JD Edwards. I was used to Visual SourceSafe and used it in a project where I worked in Orlando Fl, one developer worked in Phoenex AZ and a third worked in Las Vegas. It worked really well.

When I started learning JDE development 3 years ago, I was excited about OMW, it seemed natural to me coming from the background I was accustomed.

Lately, I'd give anything NOT to have to use OMW. I just had yet another project give me a huge headache as I tried to promote it into production. OMW seems to work sometimes, and sometimes it doesn't. I'm not looking for "Did you check OMW Configuration?" or "What platform are you on?". It just seems to *&*$% work when it wants to with no rhyme or reason to it. Am I the only one having this problem? I sure am glad my CNC guy grew up in the pre-OMW days and knows all the work arounds. I'm learning them and finally ready to give up on it until it works.

If you are having problems advancing the status, check out all the objects and check them all back in. OMW doesn't like it if you modify an object in another project and try to promote it in s a different project.

Nice one, I've had that happen as well, problem number 476 if I remember correctly (so many problems, who can remember them all?) Since I'm now *stuck* at a status of 26 and can't rollback, I can't try it just yet.

Must get a bigger hammer.

What kinda objects included in your project. Remove any non promotable objects(if any) from your project.

Hi,

I had the same problem with promoting some projects in OMW. From the OMW logs it appeared that 1 or 2 objects couldn't be promoted. In the jde.log there were error messages about duplicate keys in F9861 - Object Librarian.

It seemed that OMW was wanting to insert a record to F9861 rather than update and existing record.