Insert URL Media Object Attachment in a C BSFN

BOster

BOster

Legendary Poster
Does anyone know how to insert a URL Media Object Attachment (either from a named MO Queue, or a basic URL)in a C BSFN.

I was thinking the JDE API call JDEGTAddMiscBlob might do the trick, but I can't find any examples where it is used and can't find any documentation.

Please look at our "One Attachment Manager" software package - it includes native JDE BSFN API's for such things...

So you're saying you know how to do what Brian is asking?

C'mon Alex, it would be nice if you'd share some of your knowledge with us developers once in a while.

As a developer, I am more interested in HOW things work or HOW to accomplish something, rather than getting a canned solution all the time. If I were a manager, your solutions would be awesome for me. But I am a developer right to the core and my mind wants to soak up all the knowledge I can get.

Maybe just a hint as to what api's to use and how to use them?

Absolutely, but this is all based on general knowledge, the value is in the implementation, testing and support! ;-)

We all know that it's all in the BLOB's and that there are JDB API's to access table data. And hacking together a narrow purpose-built custom solution is generally speaking not a big deal: you just need a bit of C skills, a test system and some time. I'm sure many here have done this before...

Or are you saying a training course on the topic would sell better than the canned solutions? ;-)

I'm not sure in what release this API became available:

jdeGTAddUpdate_HTML(PJSTR szObjectName, LPVOID lpMODSKey, LPMODATA pMOData, long lTotalRec);

We use this to attach url links but you could also just insert the F00165 record yourself. From what we saw, the BLOB was not populated in the type 5 attachment (URL/File) records. The file/Url is in the GDGTFILENM field.

The API is nice since it will determine the correct sequence (MOSEQN) and do the audit fields.