Event Rules - Translate an Update SQL Statement to ER Table IO

bbass

Hello, I'm a long time developer but a brand new EntOne Developer, so forgive me if this is a elementary question...I have looked for an answer but have not found it. Basically all I want to do in a form is what the following SQL statment would accomplish:

Update Schema/Table
SET
TblFld = FrmFldB
WHERE
TblFld = FrmFldA

I have a very simple Fix/Inspect form (would this be the correct form type to use for this) with 2 text input fields (FrmFldA, FrmFldB) and a Button (that will process the above SQL logic). I have an appropriate BV associated with the form, however, directly updating the table would be fine also. In the Button Clicked ER, is it a two step process where you would do a Table IO Select, then a Table IO Update to the BV/Table? I've tried both and haven't been able to get it to work. What am I missing to implement this SQL logic with ER? Thank you for your help.

bbass,

When asking a question, it is always good to provide as much information as you can - every little bit helps us to help you. In general it is good to provide the following:

1) Always provide your system config

and where applicable:

2) Appropriate event rules
3) Appropriate Logs, especially debug logs
4) Appropriate Screen prints

If needed, the event rules, logs and screen prints can be attached to your post - one file per post. Therefor it may be an idea to put then all into a zip file and attach the zip file to a single post.

From what you have described, one possible reason is that the table i/o mapping may not have been completed. I have made this mistake a number of times, especially when I've been in a hurry. I put in the variable name and the column to which it relates but forget the middle relatiosnhip options (=, <, >, etc).Check your mapping and make sure that all is OK, especially the relaionshp option.

Did you check if the form properties are correct for update in your Fix/Inspect?.

bbass,