Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Print Immediate

  1. #1
    Member GuitarMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    165

    Print Immediate

    I've written a BSFN that calls jdeLaunchUBEEx to launch the UBE. In looking at the Data Struct for tagUBEVAR, I don't see any parameter that will allow me to tell the printer to Print Immediate. This is a requiremnt because this UBE sends our Order Confirmations to our customers.
    My question is: Is there any way to dynamically set the Print Immediate option beyond setting the JDE.INI value to true?
    Hopefully I'm being clear in my request. Any advice is welcome

    Mike Kissel
    XE or EntOne AS400

    Mike Kissel
    JDE E910
    Tools Release: 9.1.3
    Platform: iSeries

  2. #2
    Member barrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    252

    Re: Print Immediate

    Mike,

    I think "pUbeVar->zReportFlags |= eDRRPTPrintImmediate;" should do it.

    Barry
    Xe - SP 20 UD 6 / ES NT/AS400
    8.0 - SP 20 / ES NT/AS400
    8.9 - SP 2 / ES NT/AS400
    (Also 8.10, 8.11 and 8.12 at various TR levels...and anything that may come next) which now includes 9.0 and 9.1 and multiple TRs

  3. #3
    Member GuitarMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    165

    Re: Print Immediate

    BARRY!!!
    You are the MAN!!! Thank you very very much.
    It worked like a charm.

    Mike Kissel
    XE AS400
    Mike Kissel
    JDE E910
    Tools Release: 9.1.3
    Platform: iSeries

  4. #4

    Re: Print Immediate

    Hi mike,

    i have to print some reports immediately to the printer without setting the JDE.INI parameter to TRUE. if possible can you plz share your BSFN?


    Thanks and Regards

    Shams
    Oracle JDE EnterpriseOne 9.1 Update 2/ 9.1.3.3
    Oracle 11g Database, RHEL 6, Weblogic

  5. #5
    Senior Member Alex_Pastuhov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,706

    Re: Print Immediate

    Shams,

    We sell a packaged solution for that.

    If interested, please, e-mail me directly for more details.

    Regards,
    Alexander Pastuhov
    http://www.pastuhov.com.au/index.htm
    Regards,
    Alexander Pastuhov
    http://www.everestsoftint.com/

  6. #6
    Member GuitarMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    165

    Re: Print Immediate

    Not to be difficult, but rather than give you a fish, I'll give you a hint on how to fish... The Whipping Boy taught me that you'll get a lot more out it than me just giving you the answer...

    Take a look in B4200310 and do a search on jdeLaunchUBEEx.
    There's a few examples there on how to call it. I "borrowed" one of them and modified it slightly, adding in Barry's little helper for the print immediate stuff and I was done.
    Take a look there and if you have any specific questions about this, feel free to contact me offline.
    Mike Kissel XE AS400
    Mike Kissel
    JDE E910
    Tools Release: 9.1.3
    Platform: iSeries

  7. #7

    Re: Print Immediate

    Thanks Mike,
    I will try to fish as u said, if there is any problem i will get back to you

    Thanks and Regards
    Shams
    Oracle JDE EnterpriseOne 9.1 Update 2/ 9.1.3.3
    Oracle 11g Database, RHEL 6, Weblogic

  8. #8
    Member GuitarMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    165

    Re: Print Immediate

    I'd again like to thank Barry for his response.
    Now I have another question...
    When launching a UBE in queue 'A', that calls a version of a second ube that's supposed to run in queue 'B', it appears the the UBE that is called form the original UBE is run in queue 'A' instead of queue 'B'.
    I've told jdeLaunchUBEEx to run in a designated queue by setting this code:
    strcpy((char *)pUbeVar->szJobQueue, (const char*)"B");
    And it works when the UBE is called form an interactive app. When called form a UBE, it appears to inherit the queue the original job runs in.
    Has anyone seen this before or have a possible hint as to how to get the secondary UBE to run in the queue I tell it to? Is it due to the AS400 only assigning one job number and therefore assumes that all jobs under that number run in the same queue?
    Thanks for any help. I've looked for examples of this but have come up empty. I'm more than happy to fish, I just need help finding a good spot to throw in my line...
    Thanks,
    Mike Kissel XE AS400 SP20
    Mike Kissel
    JDE E910
    Tools Release: 9.1.3
    Platform: iSeries

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Porto Alegre/RS -Brazil
    Posts
    29

    Re: Print Immediate

    Hi,

    I've had my run on LauchUBEEx last year and the posts I've found here saved me from lots of troubles.

    I think you're right, I've had the same problem with the queues and, if I'm not mistaken, there was a post here stating that the child UBE inherits its parent's queue and overrides the mapped queue.

    What I had to do was split my code through several levels: an application calling a NER that called a BSFN that called the UBEs.

    No UBE calling other UBE directly. I had to make several different calls of the BSFN from the NER, in order to avoid the inherit issue.

    And I had to synchronize the calls myself, because the synch flag would not work, ie, when my BSFN called the UBE, it didn't wait for the UBE to finish before going on with the processing. This lead to the BSFN finishing before the UBE and then the NER called the BSFN to call another UBE that was only due processing AFTER the first UBE was finished, so I now had the 2 UBEs running (or enqueued) and it was not producing the appropriate behavior.

    I could have probably used workflow to synch them or some other methods, but I decided to avoid any possible pitfalls (I've had my share of them with workflow, also), so I just checked for the Job Server queue (again, wonderful posts here to help) and waited for my first UBE to finish before calling the BSFN again.

    Another thing to pay attention to: since I was calling my UBEs from the BSFN, I was using Report Data Structure on the UBE to get parameters to the data selection and I was setting them up in the BSFN through Data Structures that were copies of the UBE Data Structure. If you happen to change the data structures, all hell breaks loose. Be sure to build the data structure and assign it in the BSFN in a way that the right sequence of the data itens will match in both sides, or you'll get parameters switching and many weird behavior.

    All in all, I had a lot of problems, but I've learned a lot. I hope that my tips help you.

    Best luck.

    Everson

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    3

    Re: Print Immediate

    Hi,

    I'm having a similar problem with printer inheritance instead of job queue inheritance.

    However, for your job queue inheritance there is a jde.ini setting that (I suspect) will fix it that you can find on the Knowledge Garden as Document ID ott-03-0034 that I've attached to this post.

    Regards.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft.