All submitted jobs error after install of service pack SP20_R

btamayo11

List,

I installed service pack SP20_R1 in accordance with JDE instructions. During testing, we could see that the service pack did indeed fix many of our problems. All was good until we discovered that any submitted job would immediately error out. None of the jobs made it into processing status.

Looking at the logs, each submitted job had the same information in it:
--process registered
--net program end with some error
--an API call to some function with zombie in the name

We backed off the service pack and we are running fine again.

Any ideas?

I followed the JDE provided instructions 100% but perhaps I didn't.

Try running LINKBSFN in the new SP environment. The JDEUPDATE that they have you run sometimes doesn't do everything it needs to. Also if you applied two one-offs,(like R1 and SPX_005) they should have been applied separately.

Jean,

I am new to JDE service packs. The instructions that I downloaded from KG
didn't specify to run anything in JDE. It only specified to update .sl's in
system/lib folder, replace system, systemcomp and client install directories
on the deployment server and then deploy a foundation package.

Is running linkbsfn a common practice when deploying a one off for a UNIX
environment.

Bernie

Bernie
--Xe on HP 9000 Unix (Apps Server, 2 Batch servers)
--Oracle 8.1.7
--SP20_I1

Bernie,

We encountered exactly the same coming from SP20_I1 to SP20_R1. It appears to be the RUNBATCH program. If you replace the original RUNBATCH back after the upgrade then it will work again. We are currently investigating if this is a possible workaraound. The RUNBATCH program has been modified since SP20_J1 for the RS6000.

Regards,
@ndre de Wit

Andre,