Planned Work Orders, Messages and Time Fences

GVSUXC09

I'm a Materials Manager, not an IT. Tried to search for my issue, couldn't find a related topic.

I was not here during implementation in Oct 2007 but have been tryig to fine tune th esytem since July 2008.

Don't ask me why, but they chose to have a multi-branch operation which means OT's between branches and complicated MRP runs.

But in one of my starign branches, a PC board area, we have too many past due work orders. I am addressign that issue, but in the meeantime JDE gives us messages to reschedule the old work orders or increase or decrease quanity but it also suggests planned work orders that assume we already have taken those actions so I overplan components. There is an avaialble balnce and yet it plans more material. I have never seen that and I go back to Ollie Wight days of MRP (Copics, Mapics, Fourth Shift, SAP, etc. installs under my belt).

The only manuals or help screens I have tell me how to put a fence for messages, but I can ignore the messages, will a time fence change cause the MRP planning to recognize all open work orders before it suggest a planned WO?

The way it works is backwards to me as it overplans until you react to the messages and then the next regen it tells me to push out the components.

Help! I must be missing something.

There have been a lot of views but no replies.
Is the question so basic that no one feels the need to help or is it so detailed a question no one has run into this before?

I could use suggestions, I'd like to fix this before my batch run thi sweekend. I am under pressure to reduce invenotry and this defect is increasing it!
mad.gif