Automatically allocating available stock to branches

• Thread starter Randall_Whiteman
  • Start date

Randall_Whiteman

Appologies if my terminology is incorrect, I'm still learning this area of JDE functionality. We currently use JDE810 for manufacturing only and are part way through re-implementing all modules (ie manufacturing, supply chain, finance, etc) in JDE90.

We have a scenario where a distribution centre might have 50 units of a particular product on hand and available. Two branches both have demand of 50 units (therefore only one branch will receive the on hand units from the DC).

If one of the branches has an open sales order from a critical customer, we want to ensure that branch is supplied first.

We have been playing around with DRP using the branch relationships but haven't found how to give preference to a branch based on the customers associated with back-ordered open sales orders.

I have read a couple of high-level documents on Order Fulfillment which sounds promising but so far I haven't connected the dots into anything meaninful.

Another complication is that our staff don't have time to perform a full review of planning messages created for transfer orders. In the legacy system, the transportation clerk arrives early in the morning to find system generated transfer orders which they then proceed to book vehicles with transport companies for that day. The JDE solution needs to be similarly automated.

Hope this makes sense and i really appreciate any comments. Thanks.

I don't know much about Order Fulfilment so can't offer anything there.
DRP might be an option, something like this:
- setup special doc types ( St and OT equivalents ) for priority transfer orders for supply of B/O sales lines
- create special version of demand/supply inclusion rules that include only sales order lines at B/O status, and the special transfer order docs, inbound and outbound