AS/400 (Big Blue) vs Sequel Server platform 8.11 & beyond

tmackin

Reputable Poster
Looking for pros and cons of running 8.11+ on an AS/400 platform versus a sequel server based one. I am not technical but have a 30 year history with Big Blue prior to JDE OneWorld. I lost the battle six years ago but now we need to upgrade our hardware and would like to present a case for the AS/400 family. I am looking for comments on the differences of using either solution from a technical (CNC) perspective as well as a functional one. We are a small shop with about 50 concurrent users with about 15-20 being remote. We are using the financials, distribution and manufacturing modules. My personal feeling is that the AS/400 is more stable and has many more tools to manage and/or troubleshoot the system.

My gut tells me to go withthe E-series over sequel server running on HP Proliants. We currently have no in-house technical support familiar withthe AS/400.

The last time the company was sold by the reasoning that they could get 2 redundant servers cheaper than 2 AS/400's. My arguement was that Big Blue was so reliable you only needed one!

Any and all comments welcome and thank you in advance. Again, I am technically-challenged when it comes to this area.

[ QUOTE ]
My gut tells me to go withthe E-series over sequel server running on HP Proliants. We currently have no in-house technical support familiar withthe AS/400.

The last time the company was sold by the reasoning that they could get 2 redundant servers cheaper than 2 AS/400's. My arguement was that Big Blue was so reliable you only needed one!

[/ QUOTE ]