Error messages glossary update

Tuazon

Hi there.
I am a new developer in JDE 8.11 tools 8.96. I created an error warning msg and deployed it in developement environment. The client tested it and requested few changes in the glossary where i put the cause:msg note and resulution:msg note. I went to JDE tools/error messages to change the glossary. The client tested and changes did not showed up. I even restarted the services. Please advise.

Thank you for your time.
Lemor

Hi,
start your java generator tool and regenerate the application.

Let me know .

Best regards.

Bruno Condemi

Hi Bruno,
I re-created package (update) and deployed and regenerated the deployed one. When user ran it to the web screen it is still shows the same error msg. I even edited the error warning glossary the put the objects to dev. but its still the same. Did i missed something?
thank you.

Lemor,

The glossary is part of the data dictionary. The data dictionary items are contained in TAM/spec files on fat clients and the enterprise server. When you edit data dictionary items, the database is updated, but not the TAM/spec files. You will need to rebuild/recreate them and then you may have to regenerate the application. Make sure that your spec source for generation has the rebuilt/recreated files. Generally spec source is the spec directory/folder in the pathcode for which you are doing the generation.

The files are:

dddict.ddb
dddict.xdb
ddtext.ddb
ddtext.xdb

These files reside in the following directory (normally for windows):

C:\<install version>\<pathcode>\spec

where <install version> is normally E811 for JDE E1 8.11 and <pathcode> is normally PD811 for production.

There are two ways to re-create them, both involve renaming the files. Do not delete them until you are sure that all is well, if there is a problem you can switch them back:

1) While logged out of JDE, rename the files (on the fat client(s) and/or enterprise server) and let them re-build (JITI) over time;