Do you need multiple Application Servers?

Jack_Crouch

Well Known Member
We are on XE now, but I am studying up on the idea of setting up a 9.0 environment. It would be 8.98.3.1, Deployment VM Windows2008x64SP2 SSE, Enterprise/Data System i V5R4. WAS ND 70 on System i.

When talking to people about using OAS or WAS on intel, it seems "assumed" I would have at least 2 intel servers "for redundancy". I am not sure if they are saying that for hardware redundancy or software redundancy reasons.

Since I am thinking of putting WAS on one System i, I have this question:

I will install the ND version of WAS (because I can - that is what is in Oracle eDelivery). I wonder if I need to create multiple application servers (vertical cluster I guess) underneath that install or not? We will have 600 concurrent users. I am not clustering for hardware redundancy (since it is all on one System i). But I wonder if in the WAS world, if maybe it is not uncommon for an Application Server instance to “hang up” and require recycling. If that is true then I guess you might want multiple Application Servers just to avoid bringing the entire company down during a recycle?

Or maybe you want multiple Application Servers because it keeps the number of Java threads down and the "garbage collector" has an easier time?

For 600 concurrent users, I would have several JAS servers to handle the load. By "several," I mean >=5.

I don't know anybody who recommends handling more than 200 users on a single instance of WebSphere or the Oracle alternatives.

Hello Mr. Crouch.

Long time no chat. Joe Tirado here. I was following up on my own post a couple days ago and thought I would make a not so quick comment which may only be marginally related to your question and maybe it is worth two cents maybe not. :)

Short answer, I would say yes, for the number of concurrent users you have and to avoid complete PROD down time.