Performing a DIFF on objects

jpsst34

Well Known Member
Hi List!

I'm a developer with a primarily 4GL background (C, C++, Java, Perl, etc.) I've use MS Visual SourceSafe in the past for version control, source control, etc.

Being new to JDE, I understand that OMW is the center for source control. Yet I don't believe there is any way to perform a diff on two instances of the same object. For instance, I would like to check out an object, but would first like to see a listing of the differences between my local copy and the server's copy before it "overwrites local specifications." Is there any way to do this?

Jack,

There is a new OneWorld Tools to do this, it's call "Visual ER Compare". When you are in OMW, go into the design mode for a application, report or what ever you need to compare and the tools is there.

This tools will allow you to compare your local copy with the server copy before a check-out or before accepting a package. It is also usefull to compare your local copy with the server copy when a new ESU as been applied and you want to know what are the changes the ESU did.

Christian Audet

Jack (not John),

There are several things you can do..... If you want to compare Event Rules,... Visual ER Compare or WinDiff (if you want more info just ask).

If you are comparing other features then it is tougher, you can print out data structures and tables, and business views then save them in the save location (highly recommended to have a save location) then check out the server copy and repeat. Then if you want the local version - do a restore.

If you are unfamiliar with the JDE tools another option is to print the ER to a file ( Both) and do a Windiff.

Regards,

Zakeer

You can use the visual ER compare. Search for Visual ER Compare on the
KG. Ott-02-0022 I believe is a guide to using it.

HiJack (put your hands down people ;) ),