Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Status of a Grid Column : Enabled/Disabled

  1. #1

    Status of a Grid Column : Enabled/Disabled

    Hello All,

    Is there any standard function to check the status of a Grid column If its enabled or disabled at a certain position.

    I mean , there are multiple validations in different event rule where a grid column has been enabled or disabled. i need to know if the Grid column is enabled or disabled at a certain moment/position , based on which i can write some more logic.

    My New Requirement is
    IF Grid Column is enabled
    ---DO this---
    Else
    ---DO this---
    End IF




    Thanks

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Hi, AFAIK this is not possible. But there is definitely some condition based on which grid column is enabled/disabled. You can use the same condition for your new ER.

    So, if flag = Y,
    disable grid column
    ---DO this---
    else
    ---DO this---
    End If
    JD Edwards Developer
    World/E1(Xe,8.12,9.0)

  3. #3
    Thank you For your reply.

    Yes i am doing the same , but the difficulties is , there are so many permutations and combinations of these conditions where this Grid column is enabled/disabled and its getting more difficult to replicate all these permutations and combinations of these conditions .

    so was checking for other alternatives.


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    780
    If I understand your requirement, you might try modularizing all of your Grid Column enables and disables. Something like creating a hidden button for each of DisableColumn and EnableColumn. In the ER for each of those events, you set a global variable based on if enabling or disabling:

    DisableColumn button pressed:
    Code:
    VA frm_GridColEnabled = "N"
    DisableGridColumn system function
    EnableColumn button pressed:
    Code:
    VA frm_GridColEnabled = "Y"
    EnableGridColumn system function
    You will need to replace all of the existing code where your column is being enabled and disabled to call the appropriate button code, and as long as you use that approach everywhere that column's enabled-state changes, you will have the one variable to which you can refer to check it's enabled-state.

    There is no system function you can call that will just return that enabled-state to you programmatically.
    Jeremy
    E1 Consultant
    Minneapolis, MN

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,576
    Edit:
    Got to second page of responses and realized JMR had all ready basically given the same resolution. Sorry for not reading the entire thread before responding, deleting my response.
    Last edited by BOster; 09-19-2019 at 07:32 AM.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  6. #6
    Thank You Jeremy and Brian

    My requirement is to perform some logic if the Grid column A ( Say) is disabled and perform some different logic If the Grid column A ( Say) is enabled.
    that means at a certain moment ( Click a Row exit after selecting a Row ) i need to know the column A of the selected Row is enabled or disabled.


    To Replace the exiting code or replicate the Exiting condition is very complex , as there are huge amount of logic written with lots of permutation and combination of conditions where the Column A is enabled/disabled. so its not possible to find exactly what are the conditions where the column A is enabled and where the column is disabled.

    So looking for any alternative (Logic or Functions ) where to pass the selected row column and check the status ,its enabled or disabled.


    Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,576
    Yeah, you kind of have to start with the plan Jeremy outlined. Its a unfortunate that there isn't a way to read control state. I have ran into the same requirement on more than one occasion.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    780
    You don't have to replace/replicate the existing logic that determines the state. You would replace every DisableGrid<Column A> and every EnableGrid<Column A> system function calls with corresponding PressButton<DisableGrid> and PressButton<EnableGrid>. As long as you do that, the value of that global variable (VA frm_GridColumnEnabled for instance) can be checked anywhere in your code to "know" if the column is enabled or not.
    Jeremy
    E1 Consultant
    Minneapolis, MN

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.