Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ECO for Parents with Stocking Type K

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    78

    ECO for Parents with Stocking Type K

    We use kits almost exclusively for sales order processing. We want to begin using ECO's to make changes to the kits.

    However, when we run R30510, we get an error message that states: Error Detected: ECO processing can't be used for kit item #81956.

    I can't see in the documentation that there are limitations on the stocking types ECO's can be used for. So, I'm not sure what we have set up incorrectly on the item number or the ECO that is causing our problem.

    Any help would be great!

  2. #2
    Senior Member DSauve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,254
    Sorry, but you're out of luck. ECO's don't work on kit (stocking type K) BOM's.
    What it really comes down to is that BOM's can have line numbers with two decimal points (in field CPNB), though they used to have only 1 decimal point (in field CPNT). The line # field is populated on the F4211 record when a kit is used.
    When Oracle made the change to allow two decimal points in BOM's (I think it was either in 8.9 or 9.0), they did not expand the field in the F4211 record to allow for the extra decimal place. Thus, if you did an ECO on, say line 10.00, the new line would get line # 10.01. Since 10.01 can't be stored in the line # field in the F4211 record, you end up getting an error.

    So what we end up doing is making changes to kit BOM's manually, and making sure that only 1 decimal place is used for line numbering.
    Don Sauve
    Wagstaff, Inc.
    E1 9.2, Win2016, SQL Server 2016, TR 9.2.2.6, WebLogic 12.2.1, BI Publisher

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    78
    Well, thanks for replying. I wish there was a better answer. We have nearly 9000 kits in several dozen branches so while we can change it manually, it's tedious. Hmmm - I'll have to look at potential automation.

    Thanks again as I now know where to go from here.

  4. #4
    Senior Member DSauve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,254
    We haven't done this, but I supposed possibly you could change the Stocking Type temporarily to "M", make the change, make sure there are no 2-decimal F3002 records, and then change it back to "K" Stocking Type. A bit more work, but at least you'd have the audit history in the BOM.
    Don Sauve
    Wagstaff, Inc.
    E1 9.2, Win2016, SQL Server 2016, TR 9.2.2.6, WebLogic 12.2.1, BI Publisher

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.