Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Object Browser Batch Export Using Command Line

  1. #1

    Post Object Browser Batch Export Using Command Line

    Hi Craig,

    Greetings!

    I would like to use object browser's batch export feature using command lines. When execute the command objectbrowser.exe -h it is giving below message. Can you help me by providing an example to export 10 objects ER having names in a .txt file.

    =====================================
    JDE Object Browser Batch Export Mode
    =====================================
    Usage: objectbrowser.exe
    -a Input File with list of objects (other object selection parms ig
    nored)
    -b Export Flags. 1 = Event Rules 2 = Object Properties 3 = Both (d
    efault) 4 = None
    -c PathCode when using central objects
    -d Export directory (folder)
    * -e Environment
    -f Prefix spec source to filename
    -g Log File Path
    -h Help - shows this message
    -i Silent Mode - no user input
    -j OMW Project (wildcards allowed)
    -l Spec Location (L - Local)*default (C - Central Objects)
    -m Mode (H - HTML)*default (T - Text)
    -n Do not process object versions
    * -o Object (wildcards allowed)
    * -p Password
    -r Version name (wildcards allowed)
    -s System (01, 42, etc)
    -t Append timestamp to filename
    * -u User
    -v Datasource for versions
    -w OMW update date prefix with e(equal),l(less than) or g(greater t
    han)
    -x[fmt] Export APP or UBE procesing options by version (1-Excel)*default
    (2-CSV) (3-TXT)
    -y Object Type
    -z[fmt] Export UBE data selection by version (1-Excel)*default (2-CSV) (
    3-TXT)


    * parameters are required.
    Press any key to continue ...

    Thanks In Advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member craig_welton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    1,003
    If file c:\temp\export.txt contains

    P01012
    P4210

    From the command line run objectbrowser.exe -ac:\temp\export.txt -uJDE -pJDE -eDV920
    to export P01012 and P4210 to HTML.

    Replace the user (-uJDE) and password (-pJDE) parameters with your credentials and choose your environment (-eDV920 in this example).

    thanks
    Craig
    Craig Welton
    PatWel Group Inc.
    http://www.patwel.com
    Home of the FREE JDE Object Browser, JDETrace, NERDup and BusBuild+ Tools

    E1 9.0 8.98.4.2 Wintel SQL 2008
    E1 9.2 9.2.1.4 iSeries

  3. #3

    Lightbulb Remove line numbers?

    Hi Craig - I've used the OB export tool with WinMerge's excellent file comparison tool to achieve complete object comparison that far exceeds ER compare's completeness, it's very cool. The WinMerge comparisons work best without ER line numbers, but OB doesn't seem to have a command line switch to turn them off. I know I can turn them off in OB preferences, but I usually like to leave line numbers turned on for the manual object review within OB, but only turn them off when doing command line exports. Is there a way to do this?

  4. #4
    Senior Member craig_welton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    1,003
    Thanks for the feedback. I'll look to add an option for that.

    Craig
    Craig Welton
    PatWel Group Inc.
    http://www.patwel.com
    Home of the FREE JDE Object Browser, JDETrace, NERDup and BusBuild+ Tools

    E1 9.0 8.98.4.2 Wintel SQL 2008
    E1 9.2 9.2.1.4 iSeries

  5. #5
    Senior Member craig_welton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    1,003
    See version 1.3.0.98. The command line option -k will force the line numbers to be disabled regardless of option settings.

    Craig
    Craig Welton
    PatWel Group Inc.
    http://www.patwel.com
    Home of the FREE JDE Object Browser, JDETrace, NERDup and BusBuild+ Tools

    E1 9.0 8.98.4.2 Wintel SQL 2008
    E1 9.2 9.2.1.4 iSeries

  6. #6
    Craig - you're the man, this works perfectly! This tool just gets better and better, we can't thank you enough.

  7. #7
    Craig - Two more small requests. Could you please make the "logic lines" for indentation be suppressed with a command line argument? I love having them enabled in the OB tabs when browsing code, but using a text comparison tool for exports, the extra "|" shows all lines contained inside a new "if" or "while" as different when those lines haven't changed. I've been able to do "find and replace" after exports but it would be great to not have to do that extra manual step.

    Also: NER functions in the OB visual display in the tabs helpfully show their "function name" (the one without spaces that is the unique public identifier for the specific function) at the top of the tab above the data structure, which makes it easy to copy it out for ER searches. However, C BSFNs don't show it, and require scrolling down and hunting to find them, which is less convenient. Would it be possible to add the function name to the C BSFN display?

    I use the tool all day long and it's a huge lifesaver. Thanks!
    PS I've been able to create windows batch files for automating all the command line stuff for comparisons of objects, projects, and entire pathcodes. Makes upgrades much more complete and painless.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.