Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: JDE Object Browser HTML Server

JDE Object Browser HTML Server

Hi folks,

I started playing around with a concept and wanted to see if anyone finds it interesting/useful/worthwhile ...

The tool already presents JDE objects in HTML format (along with others). They are currently displayed in a browser container inside the MDI application. I'm fooling with adding an HTML server to the tool. This would enable anyone to browse objects from any browser, i.e. without the need for a fat client (other than the one dev workstation that is the server). There would be an object search form to query objects and the results would be links that export the object to HTML and present the results. Thinking about other features like data browsing and function testing as well.

any thoughts?

thanks
    Craig
    Craig Welton
    PatWel Group Inc.
    http://www.patwel.com
    Home of the FREE JDE Object Browser, JDETrace, NERDup and BusBuild+ Tools

E1 9.0 8.98.4.2 Wintel SQL 2008
    E1 9.2 9.2.1.4 iSeries

I can see it being of some use - especially for any organization that may have non-dev roles like BAs that want to inspect objects/code. We have had a couple of unfortunate "incidents" with BAs using a full client to view code in the past. Currently I think most developers would want the full application installed locally as they want to see code changes, etc. However, with Oracle's push to the citizen developer (UDOs, Orchestrator, etc.) a web based version of Object Browser would be a nice compliment to the other Web based tools that the citizen developer would be using.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

Thanks Brian, appreciate the feedback. That's pretty much how I envisioned it being used. Developing the HTML server code has been a cool exercise.