Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Applying ESUs

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    152

    Applying ESUs

    We would like to know if Xe users apply ESUs to their Pristine path code. If not, do they start with DV and promote through PY and PD? And, if you have time to answer, what are the reasons for your strategy?

    Thanks in advance for any answers!

    Xe, SP 15.1, Update 2, ES=AS/400 V4R5, CO=AS/400, Deployment=AS/400 INS Card, Thick & Citrix Clients

    Xe, SP 23_T1, Update 7, ES=AS/400 V5R3, CO=AS/400, Thick & Citrix Clients

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    513

    Re: Applying ESUs

    We leave pristine alone. We apply ESUs to DV, PY and PD. Response line will sometimes have clients try to reproduce an issue in pristine just to make sure that the clients' mods and/or ESUs hasn't caused the issue.

    C Ho
    Intermediate Programmer/Analyst
    Xe SP 15.1, update1
    AS/400 V4R5 coexistant
    CO on SQL 7.0 SP2 + hotfix
    C Ho

    E9.2 TR9.2.2.5 SQL Server

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    152

    RE: Applying ESUs

    I should also add to this question the issue of applying updates (as in
    Update 2) to Pristine. Thanks again.



    Xe, SP 15.1, Update 2, ES=AS/400 V4R5, CO=AS/400, Deployment=AS/400 INS Card, Thick & Citrix Clients
    Xe, SP 23_T1, Update 7, ES=AS/400 V5R3, CO=AS/400, Thick & Citrix Clients

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    368

    RE: Applying ESUs

    John :

    I don't apply ESU to Pristine, because it's supposed to be a static
    environment where JDE could eventually reproduce bugs.
    I start on DV, and then promote to PY and PD.
    Nevertheless, I've always been doubtful if Xe Updates (Update1, etc)
    should be installed (or not) on Pristine.

    Sebastian




  5. #5
    Senior Member Larry_Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,251

    Re: Applying ESUs

    Yes, we apply ESUs to pristine (JD7333).

    I don't understand why people think they should not update JDE code with JDE updates. If I am running XE with Update 2 applied and I have customizations I need to check my problems against pristine code AT THE SAME LEVEL in order to determine if my customizations are at fault or not. Even JDE remasters their product with each Update. ESUs should follow the same rule if I am attempting to determine if my code or JDE's code is at fault.

    The following is a quote taken from document OTM-01-0063 on the knowledge garden:

    "Also, the pristine environment is many times not thought of as a valid install place, however, the recommended procedure is to apply any ESUs or ASUs to the pristine environment to provide a place for JDE pristine code to reside for testing. This will allow for clients to test the ESUs or ASUs outside of any customizations that are in their development or production pathcodes. "

    One thing to remember, if an ESU causes a problem, it is not the "Client's" ESU, it is "JDE's" ESU.

    'Nuff Said,


    Larry Jones
    ljones@wagstaff.com
    OneWorld XE, SP 15.1
    HPUX 11, Oracle SE 8.1.6
    Mfg, Distribution, Financials
    Larry Jones
    E1 9.2 - TR 9.2.2.6 on Win 2016 R2. SQL Server 2016
    Wintel, BI Publisher

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    368

    RE: Applying ESUs

    Larry :

    You gave me an excellent argument to install Updates and ESUs on the
    Pristine environment. I've been quite doubtful on whether to install
    them or not there.
    A little question : Could any of you build a full client Pristine
    package?

    Sebastian




  7. #7
    Senior Member Larry_Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,251

    Re: RE: Applying ESUs

    Hi Sebastian,

    In answer to your question we just built a full pristine package (Client and Server) 2 weeks ago. Both client and server have been successfully deployed. Why do you ask?



    Larry Jones
    ljones@wagstaff.com
    OneWorld XE, SP 15.1
    HPUX 11, Oracle SE 8.1.6
    Mfg, Distribution, Financials
    Larry Jones
    E1 9.2 - TR 9.2.2.6 on Win 2016 R2. SQL Server 2016
    Wintel, BI Publisher

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    229

    RE: Applying ESUs

    We do not touch Pristine, this allows us to prove to JDE that it was an ESU
    that messed up our System.

    As we only have a small amount of Modification we apply ESU's into PY, test
    then promote to PD.

    We have only four environments:

    JD (Pristine) - JDE Base Code, JDE Test Data, no Modifications or ESU's
    DV (Development) - JDE Base Code, Our Test Data, Set up as per live
    Environment, no Mods or ESU's, we use this to identify Set vs Application
    problems. We also apply ESU's here when we have problems - to compare Modified and Unmodified code, with the ESU, in case it is our modifications which cause the problem.
    PY (Prototype) - JDE Base Code + ESU's, Our Test Data, our Modifications.
    PD (Production) - JDE Base Code + ESU's Tested, Our Live Data, our
    Modifications Tested.



    OW733.3 Xe SP 14.2
    Enterprise Server - Intel NT + Oracle 8.0.6
    Client - Citrix TSE + 4 NT PC's for development
    OW733.3 Xe SP 14.2
    Enterprise Server - Intel NT + Oracle 8.0.6
    Client - Citrix TSE + 4 NT PC's for development

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    229

    RE: Applying ESUs

    I would disagree with the approach, yes apply Update 2 and any other
    Official release of JDE to Pristine, but not ESU's.

    ESUs are not always fully tested, and it is good to see where the ESU has
    broken standard JDE code, we have had to rely on this frequently, as without
    proof that it is the ESU which causes a given problem, it is hard to get JDE
    to fix it!

    I agree that it is good to have a 'Standard' JDE environment with ESU's but
    no Mods, again to prove it is the ESU that is the problem not your Mods, if
    you do any modification you need to be able to prove to JDE that it is the
    ESU that has failed.

    As a small shop we use DEV for applying ESUs on Standard JDE, and only do
    our Mods in CRP (PY).

    If you have a lot of Mods, I would recommend an additional environment,
    between DEV and CRP, where your mods start life.




    OW733.3 Xe SP 14.2
    Enterprise Server - Intel NT + Oracle 8.0.6
    Client - Citrix TSE + 4 NT PC's for development
    OW733.3 Xe SP 14.2
    Enterprise Server - Intel NT + Oracle 8.0.6
    Client - Citrix TSE + 4 NT PC's for development

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    585

    Re: Applying ESUs

    I think both the for and against arguments have merit.

    JDE may or may not be testing your problem on a system that has your ESU's applied. In past versions (B7332, etc.) it was almost always the case that they were working on a pure pristine system. They often could not duplicate your issue because you had applied a "paperfix" or ESU that introduced a bug or "feature".

    In past situations I have advised clients who have the disk space to create a Prist-Plus environment that included ESU's. Of course the drawback is an additional path code to maintain. We found this outweighed by our increase ability to track down ESU-related problems.

    Recently it seems that response line has been getting there systems kept more up to date. They now appear to be testing on a Pristine + Cumulative/major ESU platform. So you are probably safe applying cumulative ESU's to Prist.

    I guess at the end of the day it really depends on how involved you plan to be in resolving application issues yourself. If you feel that JDE will not help you because you have touched Prist then leave it alone or create a Prist-Plus path code and get the best of both.

    Regards,



    Justin Miller
    justin.miller@teamspot.com

    working with B7332 and XE on AS/400, NT, Solaris and AIX
    Justin Miller

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.