Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,582

    ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    We have been having problem with our ER Debugger when debugging APPLs. It seems when we put a breakpoint in some spots (Like the OK button or Dialog End) the APPL just hangs and finally in the ER debugger we get an error message "ResumeProcess invocation Error. 0x1 (no response).". See the attachment for a screen shot. At which points things are pretty much dead. We have had this in muliple APPLs in different unrelated processes. I think it happens when a called form returns to the calling form (that has the breakpoint) and the Ok button is pressed or the form is closed via code instead of a user action. Not sure but I think that is the common thread.

    Before I contact Oracle support and embark on a lenghty process that will consume the next 8000 hours of my life has anyone else encountered this?

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Meridian, ID (and wherever there is work)
    Posts
    2,760

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    B,

    Yes - I regularly see the same (or at least similar) issue. Due to the issue, I've rebooted machines machines so many times I have wear marks on the Start button...

    Please let us know if you find anything useful!

    (db)
    Daniel Bohner
    Independent E1 Developer/Techno-Functional Consultant
    www.JDERESEARCH.COM
    drbohner@JDEResearch.com | 208.495.4JDE
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/drbohner

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    Does rebooting solve your issue, at least temporarily? From what I am seeing I can't find any way to get past it. One of my developers had to use MDDebug, logging, trial and error, etc. to fix something which turned what was probably a 30 min fix into a 2 day event.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Meridian, ID (and wherever there is work)
    Posts
    2,760

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    B,

    Rebooting and refreshing the DIA - seem to resolve most of the issues I've been experiencing with Debug, lately. The issue I experience may be slightly different from that which your team is experiencing. I'll write down the actual error message, next time.

    I am aware of a developer that, despite everything we have tried, still can't get Debug to work with one specific report. That developer, also, had to resort to M&D Debug...

    Oracle - can we have a debugger for your debugger?

    (db)
    Daniel Bohner
    Independent E1 Developer/Techno-Functional Consultant
    www.JDERESEARCH.COM
    drbohner@JDEResearch.com | 208.495.4JDE
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/drbohner

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia,PA
    Posts
    361

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    Did you take a look at this document on the Oracle Support site?:
    1301062.1
    web page

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    We actually had this problem (the problem defined in the article you referecned) as well a long time ago and we have applied the manual fix (rename/delete soap.jar). Without this fix we can't debug at all, now it just happens when breakpoints are set in certain places on certain apps.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  7. #7
    Member barrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    253

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    Boster,

    This is something I got from our CNC guru...

    E1: BSFN: ER Debugger Does Not Work in Tool Release 8.98.4.1 and above [ID 1301062.1]

    don't know if this applies to you...just to let you know.
    Xe - SP 20 UD 6 / ES NT/AS400
    8.0 - SP 20 / ES NT/AS400
    8.9 - SP 2 / ES NT/AS400
    (Also 8.10, 8.11 and 8.12 at various TR levels...and anything that may come next) which now includes 9.0 and 9.1 and multiple TRs

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    NYC, Lower East Side
    Posts
    532

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    Pfd, Barrier: Thanx. Haven't encountered the problem myself yet, but it's good to know. I'll keep it in mind.
    Technical Consultant Xe-9.1

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: ER Debugger - Invocation Error

    Thanks, actually we had this problem on 8.98.4.0 (we couldn't debug at all). When we applied the fix (rename soap.jar) it solved our issue for the most part, however, we still see situations where the debugger crashes and we can reproduce the crash as well, so its not some sort of sporadic issue.

    I have got a call open with Oracle, so we will see...
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1) / 9.2 (TR9.2.2.2)
    JAS/BSSV: Weblogic 12.1.2 / Weblogic 12.2
    ES: Win2008 / Win2016
    DB: MSSQL 2014 / 2016
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro / Win10Pro

  10. #10
    This seems quite an old thread, if someone is checking here be aware that, not sure about previous version but from 9.0 and above, i guess this issue and most other debugger issue should be solved by just closing Launch JVM.exe process and few other java process in the task manager, this will help clear this issue most the times.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.