Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Some Job Queues does not work

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    150

    Some Job Queues does not work

    We have recently upgraded our OW servers from Windows NT to Windows 2003. Since then, we sometimes face a problem with our job queues, if the OW services are restarted on enterprise server.

    We have setup 8 single threaded job queues. Yesterday, I restarted the services on the server. After restart, only 5 job queues are working. Jobs submitted to other 3 queues are hanging with status "W".

    We have made the services to manual mode and tried starting the services with a 2 min gap between each other. This method sometimes works, but yesterday no luck.

    Any idea whats going with our services?

    Thanks in advance for your kind assistance.

    Husni
    EO 9.2 TR 9.2.0.3
    SQL2012 SP1 / Win2012 R2 64Bit / Weblogic 12c

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    102

    Re: Some Job Queues does not work

    Look to see if you are getting any Zombie processes in your logs on your batch servers.
    Shawn F. Scanlon
    Executive Vice President
    Global Systems Integration, Inc.
    shawn.scanlon@gsi-solutions.com
    www.gsi-solutions.com
    (586) 530-2800

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    15

    Re: Some Job Queues does not work

    I don't mean to hijack this thread but do you have any more information on the impact of Zombies on queues.

    The reason that I ask is that we have been having similar problems to Husni, for the last couple of weeks. After working perfectly well for months we have had issues with queues just stopping or with jobs being marked as processing when nothing appears to be happening or jobs just queueing up with a status of W or S. We have sometimes been able to reactivate the queues by making them inactive and then active and then refreshing them.

    This has not always worked and we have had to stop and start services once or twice as well. On investigation the only other issue that we have come across is high levels of Zombie processes on our (Unix) Enterprise server, again requiring a stop/start of services. Though whether this is symptom or a cause we don't know.

    We have had no major systems changes recently that may explain this sudden alteration in behaviour. Though we have had a few network issues which took a while to pin down.

    I would welcome any advice that you had.

    Thanks
    S Patel
    Technical
    EnterpriseOne 8.9 Service Pack 2 Unix (AIX 5.2) Oracle 9.2.06

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    584

    Re: Some Job Queues does not work

    Zombies are a symptom of a problem and not the cause. Zombie processes are dead processes that have not been "cleaned up" by their parent. They are not doing anything other than taking up a spot in the process table. In E1, if you see zombies, you will typically see zombie call object and runube processes. These crop up when some piece of code encounters a fatal exception. Typically bad data (unexpected null values usually), changes in data selection and sequencing that alter the flow of the UBE code in an unexpected way or corrupt version specs can cause runube processes to crash.

    Why should a failing UBE cause the queues to lose threads? Who knows, the JDE programmers responsible for coding the job queues should have been able to deal with the situation. Until they get their act together we can only deal with crashing UBEs on a case by case basis.

    I would suggest: redeploy the version and template of the crashing UBE, investigate if there has been a recent deployment of a new UBE or change to a UBE and investigate if there have been recent changes to processing options, data selection or sequencing.

    Regards,
    Justin Miller

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    15

    Re: Some Job Queues does not work

    Thanks for the advice Justin

    I will speak to the development team about recent changes, to see if we can identify possible causes
    S Patel
    Technical
    EnterpriseOne 8.9 Service Pack 2 Unix (AIX 5.2) Oracle 9.2.06

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    150

    Re: Some Job Queues does not work

    Thanks Shawn, Justin, for your valuable input. I have a got a lead to resolving the problem.
    Husni
    EO 9.2 TR 9.2.0.3
    SQL2012 SP1 / Win2012 R2 64Bit / Weblogic 12c

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.