Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Update F41021 Table

  1. #1

    Update F41021 Table

    Hi,

    I am a junior Developer in JDE and I am having trouble with updating F41021. I followed the documentation I read on Oracle support on how to go about updating a record in JDE. I ran the report with the below ER Code, the report runs successfully but doesn't update the table as required and doesn't show an error. What am I doing wrong or missing in my approach? Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

    VA rpt_QuantitySoftCommitted_PCOM = 1
    VA rpt_QtyHardCommitted_HCOM = 1
    VA rpt_QtyOnFutureCommit_FCOM = 1
    //
    F41021.Select
    /*VA rpt_IdentifierShortItem = BC Item Number - Short (F41021)(ITM)
    VA rpt_CostCenter = BC Business Unit (F41021)(MCU)
    VA rpt_Location = BC Location (F41021)(LOCN)
    VA rpt_Lot = BC Lot/Serial Number (F41021)(LOTN)*/
    // Showing the mapping of the Select
    F41021.Fetch Next
    While SV File_IO_Status is equal to CO SUCCESS
    VA rpt_No_Of_ReturnedRecords = [VA rpt_No_Of_ReturnedRecords]+1
    F41021.Update
    /*VA rpt_IdentifierShortItem = BC Item Number - Short (F41021)(ITM)
    VA rpt_CostCenter = BC Business Unit (F41021)(MCU)
    VA rpt_Location = BC Location (F41021)(LOCN)
    VA rpt_Lot = BC Lot/Serial Number (F41021)(LOTN)*/
    // Showing how the key was followed
    //
    F41021.Fetch Next
    // This is to check if the records have been updated.
    End While



    Thanks,
    Samukelo

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,412
    You need to look into table handles. You will most likely need two handles. One to loop your result set and the other to do the update. Or learn C and C BSFNs... all of this stuff is more straight forward in C.
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1)
    JAS: Weblogic 12.1.2 (Win2012 64 bit)
    ES: Win2008 64 bit
    DB: MSSQL 2008
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro (64 bit)

  3. #3
    Member nkuebelbeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    482
    could possibly have made a no update report (I've accidentally done this before)
    Analyst/Developer
    E1: 9.2 | TR: 9.2.1.4 | JAS: WebLogic | ES: OS400
    DB: DB2 | WebDev Client: Win7Pro (64 bit), VS 2010

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    142
    Hi Samukelo,

    as a general rule: it's NOT correct to have custom piece of software updating F41021 table since it's storing on-hand and various inventory buckets (soft commit quantity, hard commit quantity ... etc.).

    In other words: F41021 numbers should come from transactional tables like F4111 / F4211, and you are running the risk to have them out of sync.

    If you really have a business case where you need to update F41021 (for example I'm currently playing on moving back hard-committed F4211 lines into soft-committed lines) I would suggest to use standard F41021UpdateQuantities (B4101370) Business Function.

    Kind regards,

    Carlo

  5. #5
    Hi ccornagg,

    Thanks for the reply.

    The idea behind the report is to reverse/correct false commits. This is a two part report where the first part checks for false commits by checking transactional tables (F4211/F4111) data. The first part works correctly/as intended but the second part doesn't. I will try the suggested business function.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Samukelo

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    142
    Hi Samukelo,

    I would also suggest to have a look at Oracle Support site, for example:

    E1: 40: Manual Rollback Process of Item Location (F41021) File (P42210/R42210) (Doc ID 625445.1)

    There is a standard procedure in order to have F4211 (and other transactional tables) consistent with F41021 by activating "transaction processing" with UDC 00/AT.

    False commits for F41021 table are included in F41021WF table and can be processed by standard programs P42210/R42210.

    Kind regards,

    Carlo

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,412
    I think Sales Re-post (and purchase order repost, etc.) is a delivered UBE that is supposed to fix F41021. Having said that, there is a big deficiency in the delivered process in that it only fixes F41021 records for which there is a sales order line. If you roll your own, the BSFN is probably the better route to go because in reality you should also be using the JDEBASE locking APIs for this table as well (which the BSFN should be using).
    Brian Oster
    Application Development Manager
    E1: 9.0 (TR9.1.5.1)
    JAS: Weblogic 12.1.2 (Win2012 64 bit)
    ES: Win2008 64 bit
    DB: MSSQL 2008
    WebDev Client: Win7Pro (64 bit)

  8. #8
    Senior Member Larry_Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,091
    As Brian pointed out there ARE existing UBEs which purport to fix this but have some issues.
    We rolled our own SQL script (actually its not very complicated) to correct/update commits in F41021 and have used it since XE with some minor mods along the way.
    Larry Jones
    E1 9.1 - TR 9.1.5 on Win 2012 R2. Oracle DB 11.2.04
    WebLogic 12.1.3, Wintel, BI Publisher

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft.