Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

  1. #1

    Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    When I want to export something to Excel, I get a failed to start Excel notification. Does somebody know the solution to this problem?

    Thanks for all the support!

    Ro

    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    Perhaps you want to consider re-installing MS Office. Or at least you can try to link file type *.csv to Excel.
    --HarryChen
    Application Specialist
    E1 9.0 8.98 Windows SQL HTML

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    I was wondering if you ever found a solution?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    Anyone find a solution to this? I have a user that ran into this today (it was working fine last night). We've tried reinstalling the JDE Import/Export plugin. We've tried repairing the office install. I cant seem to figure out what is broken. The user has Windows 7 x64 with IE8 ... they are using the 32-bit IE browser. Any ideas? Thanks.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    548

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    No real solution but a work around. This happens occasionally when exporting security information from P00950 on the web. I close out of JDE, shut down the browser and then it starts to work again. This is the only form where I've had this issue. We have had instances where the data extract was memory bound (exporting 50K rows and 300 columns).

    We also have a registry hack that we used to apply to XP, but haven't had to apply that when we started using W7 - 64bit.

    All this assumes the user is using IE 7 or 8.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    World, OW B733X, Xe, E1 8.0, 8.9, 8.10, 8.11, 9.0 Financial, Distribution, Dev, CNC

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    I have also come across cases where if Excel was already open when this error would come up, closing Excel would fix the issue.
    Jonathan Smit
    Team Lead, ERP Technical Services
    PTI Group Inc
    E9.1, 9.1.3.2
    Wintel, Websphere, VMWare, SQL Server 2012

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    I've got two users this is happening to ... Excel being open/closed doesnt impact the message. The screwed up part is that when this happens, a new Excel process actually opens but doesnt do anything. As soon as the message saying Excel cannot start is clicked away, that Excel process closes again.

    Doesnt matter what table, grid, app they're in they get the same message everytime. Both are on IE8.

    Exporting to CSV works fine ... but not directly into Excel which is the only procedure these two users are willing to accept ...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    249

    RE: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    Are you on windows 7 and/or MS 2010?

    From: jdeadmin@server.host53.com [mailto:jdeadmin@server.host53.com] On Beh alf Of mlaski
    Sent: Thursday, August 02, 2012 12:50 PM
    To: jdelistsubscribers@jdelist.com
    Subject: Re: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data butto n

    I've got two users this is happening to ... Excel being open/closed doesnt impact the message. The screwed up part is that when this happens, a new Ex cel process actually opens but doesnt do anything. As soon as the message s aying Excel cannot start is clicked away, that Excel process closes again.

    Doesnt matter what table, grid, app they're in they get the same message ev erytime. Both are on IE8.

    Exporting to CSV works fine ... but not directly into Excel which is the on ly procedure these two users are willing to accept ...
    Sr. Business Systems Analyst
    OFS Fitel, LLC
    E1 9.0 Upd 2, T/R 9.1.0.3, Oracle DB 11g, Server:Win 2008 R2 64 Bit, Client: Win 7 & IE8 & Bottomline Transform

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: RE: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    The users are both on Windows 7 x64 ... one of them is a user of Office 2010, the other is still on Office 2007. No recent hardware or software changes to either machine.

  10. #10
    Member XaviGray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Asunción, Paraguay
    Posts
    52

    Re: RE: Failed to start Excel when clicking the Export Grid Data button

    I had got the similar issue, but after verify the issue, I found was in the plugin when try to work with office 2010, then you delete the IE Plugin from the user computer and when the JDE asked my, You want install the activeX plugin for excel?, response not and export works it!.

    Please try and tell me.

    PS.: I use export to xls with Open and Libre office without problems this form.
    Xavi

    E1 8.12 TR 8.98.4.4
    OAS 10.1.3.1.0
    Oracle RAC 10g
    HPUX IA64N B.11.31

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft.