Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Different DD for DV/PY

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    Posts
    173

    Different DD for DV/PY

    I was wondering if I am able to create a seperate set of data dictionary for our DV and PY envrinments so that we can test the effects of some data dictionary changes without affecting our production environment. I can't seem to find any information on this setup. Our DV and PY environments are on a diffrent physical server than PD, and they have their own pathcodes. I f anyone could point me at some information on this, or provide any words of wisdom that would be great.

    Thanks

    Dave
    E812, TR 8.98.1.4, OAS
    Oracle 10g DB

  2. #2
    Senior Member peterbruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    2,109

    Re: Different DD for DV/PY

    Dave,

    One way to do this is to have two separate installs - one for PD and the other for PY/DV. This is the basis of what we have. Separate installations is a clean option, but comes with it's own problems, such as resources to set it up (if it is worth it), promotion of changes to production, keeping the two installations in synch as much as possible. A variation on this theme would be to set up an additional installation, but this may not be worth the effort.

    Another, related, option may be to setup a demo version, but that may not allow all the testing you need - especially involving any customisations.

    A third option maybe using the OCM. However you must keep your OCM copies - system and server(s) - in synch. There is a possible complication - if the DD is defined in the JDE Bootstrap. If it is, then it may not be possible to do this, or you may need to change the JDE bootstrap. I don't have any experience the JDE Bootstrap - if indeed I have the correct term. I know this has been discussed on JDEList before, but it has been a while, so you will have to search for it and/or get further advice.
    Thanks, Peter

    "Give a person a fish, feed them for a day, teach them how to fish, feed them for a lifetime."

    E9.1 TR9.1.2.1, Enterprise Server: Sun, Database Server: Sun, Oracle DB: 11g, Weblogic.
    Create!form 7

  3. #3

    Re: Different DD for DV/PY

    Hi Dave,

    Yes it is possible to do this and it is in fact quite common to seperate Production Data Dictionary from DV /PY

    High level Steps off the the top off my head as below , hopefully I have not missed anything significant


    Create a new Data source that will hold the DD for your DV/PY.

    On the back end copy all the tables from DD811 to the new schema / database , or you could may be make a version of R98403 do this

    Create OCM's to point all DD tables to the new datasource for your DV and PY environments. Make sure you do this in System ,Server Map and Planner also.

    Setup transfer activity rules to move DD items from PY to PD as per your OMC setup.

    Setup the new DD datasource in the Release Datasource Map application (P00948). I have found that in 8.9 (and above I presume) the promotion of DD items does not work if this is not setup. This step is not needed in ERP 8.0 and below


    Lastly a multiple Data Dictionary setup works best if you

    1. Have seperate Web and Enterprise Servers for PD and DV/PY

    2. Perform package builds on a workstation (not Deployment Server), signed into the environment you are building the package for
    EnterpriseOne Xe to 9.2
    Windows/ Unix / AS400
    Oracle , SQL Server, DB2
    WAS , WLS
    AppWorx, Tidal , SmartScheduler

  4. #4
    Member Starrjos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    86

    Re: Different DD for DV/PY



    ice_cube210 <tonio_210@yahoo.co.in> wrote:



    Hi Dave,

    Yes it is possible to do this and it is in fact quite common to seperate Pr oduction Data Dictionary from DV /PY

    High level Steps off the the top off my head as below , hopefully I have no t missed anything significant


    Create a new Data source that will hold the DD for your DV/PY.

    On the back end copy all the tables from DD812 to the new schema / database , or you could may be make a version of R98403 do this

    Create OCM's to point all DD tables to the new datasource for your DV and P Y environments. Make sure you do this in System ,Server Map and Planner als o.

    Setup transfer activity rules to move DD items from PY to PD as per your OM C setup.

    Setup the new DD datasource in the Release Datasource Map application (P009 48). I have found that in 8.9 (and above I presume) the promotion of DD ite ms does not work if this is not setup. This step is not needed in ERP 8.0 a nd below


    Lastly a multiple Data Dictionary setup works best if you

    1. Have seperate Web and Enterprise Servers for PD and DV/PY

    2. Perform package builds on a workstation signed into the environment you are building the package for

    EnterpriseOne Xe to 8.12 Wintel/ Unix Oracle , SQL Server WAS , OAS AppWorx , Tidal

    IT Project Manager
    EntOne 9.1
    Tools 9.1
    DB2
    Websphere

    Past Life:

    A little of everything!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    Posts
    173

    Re: Different DD for DV/PY

    Thanks Ice. That is exactly the info I was looking for.

    Dave

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: Different DD for DV/PY

    I did all the steps as mentioned above, everything was working fine. Except that:
    I was using the same Enterprise Server for All environments
    I was building the pkg from the deployment server

    And we end up that the enterprise server is mixing between the data dictionaries, even it has been tested and verified, so the problem is inconsistent, it cause a data corruption. We are not sure how did the enterprise server crossover between the data dictionaries, hope if someone can clarify.
    All the configuration COMs data sources all are configured well
    Finally we decided to separate the enterprise servers, but will that ensure the data consistency. Please advice.

    Thank you,

  7. #7
    I know this is an old thread but I have a new question that is very related. In our old system we had configured the OMC transfer activity rules so that we could promote DD items but we did not have real separate DD. I am assuming that we put in new locations that would copy the data but did not actually have OCMs in place to point any environment there. Can someone point me towards a way of doing this. The requirement is that we can have DD items (mainly new) tied to an OMW project and promoted but we do not actually have separate DD set up for the promotion path environments (we are using the standard global DD.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Posts
    22
    Hi, we also have a single DD for all environments. Earlier today, I created a new Error data item in my project in DV environment. Without building or otherwise transferring the project, it's now visible in our PD environment as well. So when you have a combined DD, you need to be careful about changing things that are already in use!
    Regards,
    Kim Schmidt

    - E1 9.1 ,TR 9.1.7 , iSeries, DB2
    - formerly Xe, 8.0, SQL Server, Oracle

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company and, or Oracle.