Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    91

    Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    We have the following requirement:

    Item 123456 in branch/plant A needs to have G/L Class Code XXXX (for actual
    costs) AND G/L Class Code IN30 (for standard costs).

    This requirement is the result of items that are in development and then
    need to be transitioned to production. So, for a period of time (sometimes
    years), the same item will be costed two different ways (actual cost and
    standard cost) depending on the work order.

    Right now, the only solution we see is to create another branch/plant.
    However, we already have 3 different branch/plants and do not want to setup
    and maintain yet another one.

    Does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thank you,
    Michelle Dulay
    ERP Coordinator
    BFGoodrich Aerospace
    Chandler Evans Control Systems
    email: mdulay@chandlerevans.bfg.com

    OneWorld B7322 with the MFG Mini-Cum, coexistent with World A7.3
    AS400 V4R3 Enterprise Server
    Windows NT SQL V6.5 Deployment Server
    SynQuest V5.07.02
    Oracle
    NT Logic - between AS400 (OneWorld) and HP9000 (SynQuest)



    OneWorld B7322, MFG Mini-Cum, coexistent World A7.3
    AS400 V4R3 ES
    WinNT SQL6.5 DS

    Michelle Ziegler
    EnterpriseOne 9.0, Tools 8.98.4.2
    Windows 2008 R2 SP1
    SQL Server 2008 SP3 Enterprise Edition x64

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    156

    RE: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    Michelle,

    The way I have seen this handled (item in development, then in production)
    is to assign a suffix or prefix to the item number or a different item
    number to the development item or the production item.

    Dave Mallory Denver Water




  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    POLAND
    Posts
    4

    ODP: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    Maybe another location / lot number.
    The GL class is also stored in F41021.

    Regards

    Krzysztof Kaziów

    -----Oryginalna wiadomooeć-----
    Od: mdulay [mailto:mdulay@ChandlerEvans.bfg.com]
    Wysłano: 11 stycznia 2001 14:54
    Do: jdelistml@jdelist.com
    Temat: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item ~~0:3739


    We have the following requirement:

    Item 123456 in branch/plant A needs to have G/L Class Code XXXX (for actual
    costs) AND G/L Class Code IN30 (for standard costs).

    This requirement is the result of items that are in development and then
    need to be transitioned to production. So, for a period of time (sometimes
    years), the same item will be costed two different ways (actual cost and
    standard cost) depending on the work order.

    Right now, the only solution we see is to create another branch/plant.
    However, we already have 3 different branch/plants and do not want to setup
    and maintain yet another one.

    Does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thank you,
    Michelle Dulay
    ERP Coordinator
    BFGoodrich Aerospace
    Chandler Evans Control Systems
    email: mdulay@chandlerevans.bfg.com

    OneWorld B7322 with the MFG Mini-Cum, coexistent with World A7.3
    AS400 V4R3 Enterprise Server
    Windows NT SQL V6.5 Deployment Server
    SynQuest V5.07.02
    Oracle
    NT Logic - between AS400 (OneWorld) and HP9000 (SynQuest)



    OneWorld B7322, MFG Mini-Cum, coexistent World A7.3
    AS400 V4R3 ES
    WinNT SQL6.5 DS
    --------------------------
    To view this thread, visit the JDEList forum at:
    http://198.144.193.139/cgi-bin/wwwth...ard=OW&Number=
    3739
    ************************************************** ***********
    This is the JDEList One World / XE Mailing List.
    Archives and information on how to SUBSCRIBE, and
    UNSUBSCRIBE can be found at http://www.JDELIST.com
    ************************************************** ***********



    JDE OW B7331 SP7.1 AS400 V4R4

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    91

    RE: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    David,

    Thanks for the thought, however, various FAA and other industry standard
    rules and regs don't allow 2 different item numbers for the same item.

    Michelle



    OneWorld B7322, MFG Mini-Cum, coexistent World A7.3
    AS400 V4R3 ES
    WinNT SQL6.5 DS
    Michelle Ziegler
    EnterpriseOne 9.0, Tools 8.98.4.2
    Windows 2008 R2 SP1
    SQL Server 2008 SP3 Enterprise Edition x64

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    MI,USA
    Posts
    483

    Re: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    Michelle,
    You may have a situation like us where simply having two different locations with different g/l codes did not work. my company wanted to attach different codes depending on who we were selling the object to. for example if it was a service part we wanted one code and for a production part sale another g/l code was used for the sale.
    what we did was to set up the item master with a bogus code that would always error out when a sales order was entered making the user decide what code to use. when i say bogus i mean that it was a valid code when entering the item master but was not valid at the branch level.
    i know it's an odd solution but it did work for us.
    dave


    NT 4.0 SP5, SQL 7.0, One World B7321 SP12.4, Citrix
    SQL 2000 SP1, One World XE Update 7, SP 20 H1, Metaframe XP

  6. #6

    RE: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    That is your best solution. We had 20 plus BP at my last employer and did
    not see any problems maintaing them. The other solution is to have 2 items.
    One for development and one for production, We used both solutions.






  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    91

    RE: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    Dave,

    I tried doing this - added a new bogus G/L Class Code (UDC 41 9). Then
    changed the item branch/plant to the new code and also changed the primary
    location to the new code. Then I deleted it from the UDC.

    When I enter a purchase order, it gives me an error and I fill in the class
    code that I want. So far, so good.

    However, when I do the purchase order receipt, it is taking the class code
    from the branch/plant even though that class code is no longer valid!!!

    I've tried every combination, including making the item master class code
    invalid also.

    I bet I could probably find a SAR for this.

    Thanks anyway.
    Michelle



    Michelle Ziegler
    EnterpriseOne 9.0, Tools 8.98.4.2
    Windows 2008 R2 SP1
    SQL Server 2008 SP3 Enterprise Edition x64

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    MI,USA
    Posts
    483

    Re: RE: Multiple G/L Class Codes for an Item

    I think you may be right. we really were only concerned with the sales side of the transaction not the purchasing side of it.
    good luck,
    dave


    NT 4.0 SP5, SQL 7.0, One World B7321 SP12.4, Citrix
    SQL 2000 SP1, One World XE Update 7, SP 20 H1, Metaframe XP

  9. #9
    Hi Michelle,

    Were you able to find a solution for this? do you still remember what you did 7 years ago?

    Thanks,

    Ahmad

  10. #10
    Senior Member Larry_Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Spokane, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,072
    Ahmad - that was over 16 years ago ...
    Larry Jones
    E1 9.1 - TR 9.1.5 on Win 2012 R2. Oracle DB 11.2.04
    WebLogic 12.1.3, Wintel, BI Publisher

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft.