Check-in Help

jenningp

I’m pretty new to Oneworld (have only been involved with the product for a month or so) and am now taking on the CNC and admin responsibilities for the product. Site is currently on B733.2 SP9 and has no in depth OW CNC knowledge. Our enterprise server is an AS400 720, which hosts our central objects and we use simple FAT clients. Recently, after having numerous problems with our production environment, we commissioned a consultant to re-build and re-deploy our live environment. This was successful and completed without and problems. However our DEV, TEST AND CRP environments are still in the same state as our live environment was. My aim is to retrofit PRD733 to the other environments (copy PRD733 over CRP733 etc) so as to give us a consistent and reliable base for future development. I have a good idea of how to achieve this, however, my instructions suggest making sure all objects in PRD733 are checked in before I proceed. After some time I managed to work out how to find out the check-in status of our objects and discovered and number of objects checked out. With no change control procedures in place I am having difficulty tracing our checkouts and believe that some of the info is spurious. Is there any way to force check-ins or otherwise fool the environment into thinking there are no objects checked out?

Any information would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance (from a beginner)

Paul

Paul,
How many people have the ability to check out objects? (You could run a
security report to see this). Checking out objects should be something
that very few people have rights to (only developers).
Once you find out the individuals who do have rights to check out -
speak with them and have them check the objects back in. Then of course
you will want to implement a change control process as soon as possible!

Lisa G. Stinebuck
Senior Service Delivery Technician
Logical eBoc
US Logical
311 Elm Street, Suite 150
Cincinnati, OH 45202