JDE E1 upgrade Help

Skippy96

So i want to thank everyone for their help on my previous post. In short, I'm new to JDE and am looking for help in a planned upgrade that we are performing for our company.

Old Post: http://www.jdelist.com/ubb/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=173643&page=&view=&sb=5&o=&vc=1

after much discussion, the decision was made to stay on WebSphere and upgrade to windows 2008 on the OS.

below is a short recap of our current environment

JDE: Enterprise One 8.9
Tools Release: 8.98.2
Web servers = win 2k3 with WebSphere 6
Logic server = win 2k3
IBM i on Power Systems V6R1 (all-in-one)
Deployment server = win 2k3 with sql dB

This is our planned new environment:

JDE: Enterprise One 8.9
Tools Release 8.98.4.1
Web servers = win 2k8 R2 with WebSphere 8
Logic server = win 2k8 R2
IBM i on Power Systems V6R1 (all-in-one)
Deployment server = win 2k8 with sql dB

Questions regarding the web servers:

1. Are there any "gothchas" or common issues with this new configuration?
2. Any hardware/software configuration best practices (1cpu with 8gb RAM vs. 2 CPU with 4GB RAM)
3. Are there any build documents or white papers you guys recommend to use?
4. Is there any Load balancing within JDE or websphere that needs to be taken into account

Thank you

At a first glance the one thing I see that stands out is that you mention your application release to be "8.9" ? or was that a typo ? If it was not a typo and you are indeed on version 8.9 then tools release 8.98.4 is not listed as a supported tools release for this application release (8.9). In fact 8.9 is not listed at all.

First of all, I think you need to check your tools release in the MTR - if you plan on staying on EnterpriseOne 8.9 - then there is a limitation on what tools release you can install. 8.98 is not an option - but since you claim you're running on 8.98.2 - my guess is that your EnterpriseOne version is incorrect.