How do you disable Fast Path in v9?

pduncan

pduncan

we are upgrading from ERP 8 to 9. I used to remove/set fast path access from P0092 in 8. Where can I disable fast path user access in 9?

Welcome to the wonderful world of Solution Explorer. Fast Path access is now controlled through Security Workbench (P00950). Use the row exit for Solution Explorer. You will likely want to apply security on the Role (what you used to call Group), and set the Role to Preset One for most ordinary users.

[ QUOTE ]
we are upgrading from ERP 8 to 9. I used to remove/set fast path access from P0092 in 8. Where can I disable fast path user access in 9?

[/ QUOTE ]

Just out of curiosity - why are you disabling access to Fast Path?

I am doing so on recommendation of a consultant, a few posts online here, and what I was told at a security class at Oracle.
Do you think it is overkill? I am relatively new to CNC so any advice is most welcome.

Thanks

[ QUOTE ]
I am doing so on recommendation of a consultant, a few posts online here, and what I was told at a security class at Oracle.
Do you think it is overkill? I am relatively new to CNC so any advice is most welcome.

Thanks

[/ QUOTE ]

It has been a longstanding E1 practice to remove Fast Path. I believe it originated in the early days with the (false) belief that hiding menu items and removing fast path was a valid security model. I believe, and have long believed that it is an insecure model and is only perpetuated by those unwilling to change or do not have a complete understanding of E1 security.

A Tolstoy quote:

"I know that most men, including those at ease with problems of the greatest complexity, can seldom accept even the simplest and most obvious truth if it be such as would oblige them to admit the falsity of conclusions which they have delighted in explaining to colleagues, which they have proudly taught to others, and which they have woven, thread by thread, into the fabric of their lives."