Using E1 within OPS versus Standard HTML JAS Web User Interface

tiradoj

tiradoj

Well Known Member
Hello JDE Colleagues

I was wondering if anyone has put together a short summary business case one page sheet on when it makes sense to use JDE E1 applications from WITHIN Oracle Portal Server versus the standard HTML user interface?

Since with the E1Menu portlet that is pre-delivered with JDE E1 in WebClient_Oracle_Portal.war file , as a system admin I can access all applications from within E1 menu in OPS the same way I can in the JAS standard interface.

Has anyone exhaustively tested which applications are not available in E1 from within OPS versus the HTML (JAS) web server because I don't see what is different?

I have yet to see any SIMPLE and CLEAR explanation of the benefits of using OPS at all when you can set up JDE E1 in an https scenario to get additional security setup here and configured within a DMZ if one wanted to make accessible to Internet users or customers - suppliers of JDEdwards?

Unless they have a JDE user account they cannot sign in to JDE so (playing devil's advocate) what is the value of accessing E1 from within OPS?

Why all the extra setup if you DON'T have a need to create third party portlets?

Of course this is only the technical setup. From a legal standpoint, what is the licensing policy regarding E1 customers and how is the licensing handled for users coming in from the OPS side (not as HTML JAS web server) or for that matter, applicants for the eRecruit self service applications?

I am just asking for what other people have done in PRODUCTION environment and any ego-inflated-related and inflammatory comments will be disregarded immediately. :)

Constructive input please.

Thanks in advance.

Joe Tirado
Senior CNC Consultant

Hey Joe,