UDC Delete Value

Oregon Guy

After researching JDElist and Customer Connection I haven't found any information on ways of doing this process without creating a mess. I have been working with JDE for 8 years and understand the down stream impact of doing this, but was wondering how others are handling this. In the past I have gone out and checked to see if a UDC had been used and if not simply deleted it. If it had been used I have SQLed the UDC value on the record to the new value. Unfortunately I am now dragged into a single large UDC change. Thousands of records and thousands of values. I had recommended just adding a DNU (Do Not Use) in front of the Description, but end users will still have to search through all the records so that option has been tossed. Does anyone know of any future enhancements JDE is planning in this area? How have others gone around this? Our IS dept is looking to customize the UDC process, but thought I would check with the List Guru's.

Thanks!

'Can you please explain moreyour query?'

The query depends on the UDC used that needs to be changed and the table/s that holds the actual value needing to be changed. The requested changes this time are to complex and are over multiple tables so my usual work around will not work.

Our IS dept is looking to add cutomization to where only certain values will appear in the Visual Assist screen for certain users. I don't want to keep adding customization to E1 as we all know how fun that is during upgrades. Just looking for a new avenue to try and make this happen with current functionality or seeing if anyone knows of future enhacements in this area.

Oregon Guy,

Firstly, I hope I understand your situation correctly.

That is an interesting problem - we do much as you suggest - replace the description of the UDC with "do not use" or "obsolete". We do not have a large number of these for any one UDC type, so we don't have your problem.