Active Directory (unified logon)

• Thread starter Adrian_Chimirel
  • Start date
Adrian_Chimirel

Adrian_Chimirel

Legendary Poster
My company wants to implement Active Directory and I was asked if EOne can be integrated with AD.
Basically user login (ID & Password) information should be retrieved from Active Directory, when user logs into EnterpriseOne (either Fat or Web Client).
Is this possible? If yes, how, if no, where do you think I could find that information?
Thank you.
PS I already tried searching the archives, hummmm unsuccessfully ....
frown.gif

Yes, absolutely. I've set it up. Which EnterpriseOne release? Wait - I see you're on 8.10. You can integrate the Web client with AD on 8.9 and above, using OAS. As of 8.11 you can integrate JDE user accounts with AD, and that is independent from the web client, it works with both.

I believe WebSphere can be integrated with any release, but I've no personal experience there.

I've done the Oracle App Server Infrastructure dance between Oracle Internet Directory (OID) and Active Directory (AD). External authentication to AD works like a champ.

UnifiedLogon with the fat client (and of course Citrix) is not really single-sign on, but it works and we have been using it since OneWorld Xe.

Yes it can be done. In fact we are in the process of rolling out employee self service using this linkage. Our implementation also uses the IBM Websphere portal as the entry point for self service. Our back end E1 users also access the system through Active directory. There is unified log-on- between AD and the portal. There is unified and single signon between the websphere portal and the Backend E1 users who might want to access E1 through the portal. How it is implemented is just a matter of configuration. there might be some issues with length of user ID's but there are also solutions
smile.gif

Adrian,