Heap Dump ?'s

DMiller

Heap Dump ?\'s

Hey Everyone...
I'm fairly new to the whole WebSphere and HTML scene but am wondering if there is a way to determine what or who caused heap dumps?

Also, when they are occurring is there any way to stop the session so they don't continue happening?

For instance, I had 5 of them occur this morning and would like to learn who or what caused them so we can talk to the user or person who caused it.
Thanks much!

E811 SP1 Tools Release 8.95N1
WebSphere Version 5 running on AIX Unix platform

Re: Heap Dump ?\'s

I don't know a lot about heapdumps. We're still working through some problems on our end.

I've attached a few documents I had gotten from PeopleSoft support on the subject (yes they are old). They explain more about the possible issue and some ways to troubleshoot it. IBM might be able to help with the troubleshooting. The iConsortium recently learned how to troubleshoot these as well.

Let me know if you have any success.

Regards,
Doug

Attachments

• 120297-Heap SOLUTION.zip
    511.6 KB · Views: 217

Diane,

Give me a call. I can help you with this.
smile.gif

Dan

we are experiencing heavy heap dumps at a client as well. We are following Oracle's suggestions on this but still we are not satisfied with the current situation.

Our client works with large grids and oracle tells us not to use the 'go to end' button too much. But if you don't go to the end of the grid, then not all rows are processed? Anyone have a solution for that?

The heap dump issue is pretty straight forward:

1. Get on Tools Release 8.96.1.4 or higher. SAR 8488485 helps clean up objects that have gone out of scope. This is specifically for grid rows which are not freed from memory. Since the memory is not freed you will (no matter what you do) run out of memory.