Can somebody help a newbie?

davza

Hello everyone.
I'm new with JD so I still looking for a lot of answers. According to my support guy the system is XE Ver. b73.3.3 Update 6 SP 21 DB Oracle 9i running on a Windows 2000 + sp3 with 2 GB RAM and another box with Citrix Metaframe XP FR3.
My issue is that the Enterprise server leaves jdenet_k and jdequeue process on the Windows open even with no users connected. When a large number of those process are stuck in the server, the JD starts to slow until we reboot the enterprise server.
This is a problem because usually it happens in the middle of the day. Does anybody have a clue of why aren't those process being closed?, my understanding is that if a user losg out of JD the process for that user should be closed.
Does anybody know if I can upgrade the Deployment and Enterprise server to Win2000 sp4?

Thanks in advance for any help

David

Hi David, welcome to the List.
What you are seeing is actually normal. When s.o. logs into OneWorld, there are no JDE-processes created on the server. The user's WS connects to the database. The server processes run always, they are not supposed to die, but they should not slow down you server either. Users may submit batches to the server. These batches run and exit on termination. Depending on how many batch queues you have configured in your system you may have a lot of processes running.
Until you get a somewhat better understanding of the system, don't kill the net and queue processes. If your system really slows down every midday, you may want to get some help from a technical consultant.

Good luck, Gerd

Thank you Gerd.
How can I see how many Queues I have on my system?.

Best Regards.
David

David