AS400 to SQL Conversion

bradbeckett

Sorry in advance about the long post (and my first).

I’m new to the Edwards world, so please bear with me.

We are currently evaluating moving from AS400 World to SQL One World.

AS400/820 V5R1 World A7.3Q10
Data on AS400 is from 1995 to 2003

SQL Install B7334 SP20.

Procedure followed:
AS/400
Copy data from Prod to CRP
Apply Coexistence PTF to CRP Environment.
Run All applicable UBEs and create tables from OMW on AS/400 CRP data.

Run R98403 copying data from the AS400 CRP to the SQL CRP

During the R98403 (which takes 5 pcs 2 days to complete), we have some errors.
F0607 is a prime example:

On the 400 it is set to allow duplicate keys, on the SQL box it isn’t allowed.

Of our 24847 Records on the 400, 24363 transfer successfully to SQL, 484 fail.
If we run the following query on the 400:
SELECT JIAN8, JIWANO, JIPPED, JIPDBA, (Count(*)) AS Count
FROM F0618 GROUP BY JIAN8, JIWANO, JIPPED, JIPDBA HAVING ((((Count(*)))>1))
It shows the Duplicate keys on 484 Records

This is happening on about 10 files total, but they are all following the same pattern, not allowing duplicate key errors.

Is it possible to allow duplicate keys on the SQL box?
Has anyone ever run across anything like this before?

TIA
Brad

Unfortunately, the copy table operation generates a new table with new indices when it starts the copy operation. This means the unique key constraints are already in place when the records start copying over.

So the question now becomes: how do you remove the unique key? I see 2 ways: eliminate the unique key by modifying the original object, or eliminate the unique key by dropping the indices in SQL Server.

Since you know which files are in error, and the number is relatively small, you can try to manually do the table copy, have somebody ready to drop the indices as soon as you start the copy, and see if all the records make it across.