SAN and Enterprise Server

Soul Glo

Soul Glo

VIP Member
Hi,

We are in the process of upgrading to JDE 5 and I discovered our enterprise servers do not have the disk space capacity to accomplish that. We also found out that we cannot add bigger drives to the servers. One of our UNIX system engineer suggested that we move out /u01 to a SAN storage which will allow us to have the capacity that we need. We currently have our Oracle database in SAN and it seems to perform fine, however we do not have many users accessing the system nor are we processing much.

I guess I am trying to find out if that is even a possibility and if it is then what might be some of the drawbacks of doing so. Any input will be appreciated.

Hello Cleola,

A SAN solution should work particularly if you've already proved it out with your Oracle DB. Your Oracle DB has/will have much more I-O than the OneWorld Software and other files.

I am not an expert on SAN but I believe in general SAN storage is slower than local storage.

Good luck with your upgrade.

Larry,

Thanks for your response...from what I understand SAN is slower than local but much faster and morefail safe than NAS. Mostly all data in our company is stored on SAN. I am waiting on JDE to actually give the green light as to weather it is "approved" procedure with their support and all.

Cleola,

I have worked with clients in the past that use both the SAN solution from
IBM (Shark) and from EMC and they both seem to provide adequate (if not
superb) performance.

I have even worked on a client where all drives on the deployment server
were on a SAN solution (including the bootable C: drive). No problems.

Thanks,
James

IBM Business Consulting Services
OneWorld CNC Consultant
Cell #: 612-247-1746

cleolai
<[email protected] To: James Wilson/Chicago/IBM@IBMUS
oquest.com> cc:
Sent by: Subject: SAN and Enterprise Server
owner-jdelist@jdelis
t.com

01/29/2003 01:04 PM
Please respond to
jdelist