can JDE gross up a paycheck?

tbackoff

I posted this question several months ago but received no reply so I will try again. Currently there seems to be absolutely no way to gross up a paycheck using our current JDE OW XE payroll module. Does anyone know of this being added in (hopefully) the near future? We currently use an external program (Paybreeze) to calculate and then do an interim payment with tax overrides in order to process accurately. (who knew a payroll system would, or could for that matter, be designed without that function anyway....I must be crazy I guess...). Also, on a side note, has anyone else had major problems with the payroll module in JDE?

Explain what "gross up" means!! As an accountant I have never heard that expression.

I don't believe that Xe has the "Gross Up" function. Gross up is the process of calculating the Taxes needed to create a check with a desired net amount. For example, you want a bonus check with a net of $1,000 and the system to calculates the taxes needed to add on top of the $1000.

I have heard that JD Edwards might be adding this functionality to one of the newer releases, but I don't know which realease.

We are using the payroll module for about 3 years and are happy with the way it is functioning.

Peace.

Thanks Ken..... I didn't understand the terms he used. You are right, XE doesn't have that function.

OK I guess that answers my question. I just don't understand how any payroll processing software could have even left the developer without being able to gross up a check. It is one of the most basic requirements of any payroll system, but then we haven't exactly had the best time with our payroll module anyway we look at it, so I guess I can't say I'm too surprised that it isn't possible with JDE. Thanks for you reply though!