OEM - read-only access?

Lafonsky

I am new to Oracle and Unix. I however have a number of years JDE, AS400, SQL, NT4, W2k background. Being a CNC administrator and new to this site there are problems with regards to system speed ie slow response etc. The only way that I am able to find information is to ask questions which proves to be quite tedious expecially seeing that the Oracle DBA is not in the same building.
I have a need to see the Oracle database, setups, initial values, tabespaces, defragmentation etc. I am unable to get access to the OEM tool due to the DBA saying that he cannot give read only access to me when I use it. I don't think that this is the case. Surely if I use a ID with read-only access to the Oracle database then it is read-only in the tool? If not then how will I personally get access to the information I need?

Thanking you in advance
Larry Meyer

Any account in Oracle is a member of "public" group and by default any member of this group has full access to all OneWorld tables, so your DBA is somewhat right - unless the access has been granted to another group (not PUBLIC), users should not have DB access at all...

On the other hand, CNC Administrator is not exactly a user and would normally have this access, in which case "select any table" system privilige should be enough to run OEM.

Regards,
Alex.

Larry

What is this OEM tool that you are talking about? Is it a OneWorld tool? If so how to I access it?

Patty

Hi all,

Has anyone discovered a way to set up a read only oracle user for OneWorld? We have a requirement for this but so far havent thought of an "easy" way of achieving this. Although we can set up one which looks as if it is, because of the *public access, that user can still update the database.

Thanks,

Maria

I rang response line about this sometime ago, and they huffed and puffed
about it, eventually giving me a convoluted way of removing the *public