What add on tools do you use?

morglum666

Well Known Member
Hi All,

I'm always interested to try to understand what other people in my same role use. I work as a dev/admin/application support for a 8.9 JDE installation using oracle.

I am currently using:

* Development

Toad - SQL tool
SelectVar
Maximizer
Pok-A-Tok
Boomerang

* Sys admin/auditing

UTBBrowse

I used to use another third party program (icon was a little oneworld picture from Xe days) but it went from free to several hundred dollars.

If you don't mind me asking, what do you use?

What is UTBBrowse? Is this something different than UTB?

For JDE development I use the following 3rd party tools:
- Visual C++ 2008 Express as an IDE/Debugger
- UltraEdit
- MS SQL Management Studio
- OW/E1 Debug Log Commander from Everest Software
- Beyond Compare
- Sel Var or Variable Selection
(Just recently started using Sel Var thanks to the NER vs C thread... wish I knew about this 5 years ago, probably would have added 3 months to my life expectancy)

grin.gif

I don't use any third party tools, anymore (my partner just kept the ax near my back half - where the wallet is).

Down to using one major tool outside of what comes with E1...
** Aqua Data Browser (4.something - bought when it was affordable).

(db)

Morglum,

My roles are cnc/admin/developer.

I use:

Boomerang (thanks Alex - it's great!)
PL/SQL Developer
All Out Security (only used this when we reconfigured our security to lock out everything, then add back access)
MS Visual C++

Hi,

My roles are cnc admin/installer/upgrader/troubleshooter/
cooker/receptionist and mop guy. Whatever comes around.

Tools I use :

UltraEdit and UltraCompare
Those are great tools for editing and comparing files
(ASCII, Unicode, EBCDIC) with both CR and CR/LF terminators.
UltraCompare is great for comparing JDE.INIs, JAS.INIs, etc
They both cost like 50 USD a year; definitely great tools.

TightVNC Viewer
To connect to a couple of servers with VNC installed,