Web Services: Where to Get Started

• Thread starter Gabriel Richards
  • Start date

Gabriel Richards

Hello, newb alert...

I'm a seasoned web developer having integrated many web services with other web applications through REST and SOAP API's.

I have recently been approached about how to get a JDE back office system to feed a web portal.

I'm not so familiar with how ERP systems like EnterpriseOne are installed, configured, and customized for use, but I would expect there to be documentation somewhere about E1's web services API so that 3rd party applications could call various methods for accessing things like a customer list, a product list, and to insert an order.

A search for API documentation on Google is surprisingly fruitless... and I've essentially only found high level speak, mostly marketing gibberish to confuse the decision makers.

So for starters:

Where do I find what's the URL to the WSDL file?

Where are the SOAP connection basics?

I wonder if my confusion is simply because I misunderstand JDE E1...

Are there even standard Web Services that come with the software, or must they all first be custom defined / designed / developed? If the latter, are these GUI operations or programmed (Java?).

TY,
G

Gabriel,

Welcome to the list and JDE. The current documentation for available integration options can be found with Google search: JD Edwards Tools 9.1 Interoperability Guide. For web services specifically you'll need to be on a relatively newer release of JDE and there will be CNC installation pre-requisites for the Business Services (BSSV) server. For older releases there are other interop options with XML Call Object being the most loosely-coupled.

Thank you for the welcome Justin. That was a perfect starting point.

So, basically it seems that I can use XML to call "business functions". In appendix B they give an example to insert a sales order with pages worth of parameters. I assume "insert a sales order" is a "business function".