Upgrade E1 8.11 SP1 to 9.1, DB2 to SQL Server

salowist

We are planning on upgrading our E1 Application from 8.11 SP1 to 9.0 and changing database platforms from iSeries DB2 to SQL Server. Due to the large expense of consulting services we are forced to do the upgrade ourselves. Since we are changing hardware platforms I am approaching this as a fresh installation with data transfer and conversion. I am fairly new to E1 but a coworker on the project has a greater understanding. I have been outlining the installation guide and the process seems fairly straightforward. Has anyone else attempted this type of upgrade in house? Any tips?

My best tip is "if you plan on doing the upgrade yourself then you hired the wrong partner".

What is the cost difference between the expense of hiring a partner vs. the expense and loss of revenue to the business if things go wrong?

At a bare minimum you should consult with a partner on the planning process.

Also you should attend a "100 Day Upgrade Workshop". See www.upgradejde.com. There is much more here than you may think and reading through the manual and giving yourself a pep talk ain't gonna cut it.

Not only will you be learning the system but also inventing your methodology on the fly.

I've seen these before and things usually don't go well.

If time is on your side and the company does not have better things for you to do then by all means do this yourself but either way their is a cost here.

Colin

I agree with cdawes's feedback.

We recently migrated from AS/400 to MS SQL 2008 R2 database. That task itself was monumental but you are doing a double upgrade, going from an older JDE release AND the database.

My recommendation: don't do it together unless you have the help of a very seasoned CNC who has done this sort of thing.