Struggling with Interop

RichWallace

Hi all,

First off, I'm a .NET developer and have just recently ventured into OW interop development as our experience with iWay and other third party providers have been horrible.

I've been all over the Interop Guide and I'm still not getting it, maybe because I've never done java before...that being said, please excuse my newbie-ness.

I've read on how to generate COM components and Java components using GenCOM and GenJAVA. I've created wrappers before in order to utilize and consume COM components in .NET, but for some reason, I am NOT understanding what I need to do to get myself down the correct path.

I have the three DLLs (JDEL.DLL, JDETHREAD.DLL and XMLINTEROP.DLL), but they are not seen as valid DLL's that can be imported into VB (VB 6 or .NET)...my goal is to consume the solution (servlet or COM compat wrapper) and pass an XML document to the solution. I need to send the XML to JDE for BSFN processing and receive a response from the solution.

I've seen several code snippets in here, but I still need to go back a step or two to get far enough to create the environment without the Fat Client so I can finally start writing my solution.

Can anybody assist? I know it's a lot to ask for this and any/all suggestions would be truly appreciated.

Rich

Dont use GenJava. This basically creates JNI calls, which is much more tightly coupled and requires a lareger client footprint, and I have heard is actually slower then XML.

Use XML Call Object (see the interop guide). It is a much better interface into the JDE API. We have used it, using Java, extensively with very good results. It doesn't take much setup (just some changes to jde.ini on the app server I believe) if you use Thinnet (as opposed to using MQSeries).

Thanks BOster...I'm looking all over the place about this but I'm still not understanding how to use the XMLCallObject correctly.