E9.2 Orchestrator Looping On Custom Table

Jeff George

Jeff George

Well Known Member
Good morning. I'm attempting to build an orchestration (I'm very new to orchestrations) that reads data from a custom table and then performs an action that I've captured with a Form Request. The catch that's causing me difficulties is that the source table is a combination of header and detail and the process uses two different E1 forms (a header and detail).

My question is this: after I've used the SREQ to get the records I wish to work with from the table, how do I work with subsets of that data, e.g. where HEADERVAL1=X, until that value changes? The result should be that it looks at the group of records, creates the header, and then stays in the detail until there are no more records for that set. It works fine if there's only one record for the source data, but that's not reality.

Heres what I'd do (I'm not a full year yet into active orch dev, but I've been enabled to focus on it almost the entire year, so my skill level is intermediate). I think you should probably look into grabbing some consulting time for this, but after someone does it once it'll be off to the races for you

1) Create a FR that handles the header/detail all-in-one into JDE, for a single header/detail set
2) Auto-create an orchestration from that FR (within the form request, there should be a menu item called "create orchestration". This auto-maps the fields properly to the orch inputs. This will be your INNER orchestration.
3) Create a new orch and add your inner orchestration. on the transformations dialog, select "use object for input". then click "view example input" and save that off to a text file, that is your template that you will recreate in this orch.