Media Object Setup...

Patrickjk

JDE OneWorld XE, Release: B7333

I’m still fairly new to JDE. This is the first time I’m working with Media Objects, specifically for the “P0911 – Journal Entries” screen - adding JEs to the Batch.

Question 1: Is there a way to prevent a user from modifying or deleting an attachment once it’s been attached, but still have read access? Unfortunately, this is a showstopper for the project I’m currently developing.

Question 2: There is a Row Exit called “Attachments” for attaching a Media Object. Why don’t I see it in the “Menus/Toolbar exits…” for the form?

Question 3: Are there bugs when attaching an OLE? One of the users attached an OLE to a new JE (first), saved the JE, then accessed the JE, but the attachment wasn’t there. When the user entered a new JE (second) and then tried to attach an OLE, the attachment from the first JE appeared. There is a new form that calls the P0911 where the OLEs are attached, and neither of the attachments is available for viewing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Not directly with the version you're on. Media Object Security was introduced in a later version of EnterpriseOne - and works specifically on the web client (which Xe, your version, isn't necessarily deployed with). This is a negative aspect of working with software that is 17 years old (Xe was introduced in 2000). However, you CAN place File Level security on the NT Folder where media objects are stored, which will prevent users from deleting attachments. But they will get some form of error message if they attempt to delete an attachment. And I'm not 100% certain if that will delete the "link" leaving the attachment "orphaned".

2. Because "Attachments" is a part of foundation code - and is always available for all forms with grids. Again, this is controlled later using Media Object Security.