E9.2 Delete User Specs Confirmation Dialog when removing object from OMW project

BOster

Legendary Poster
On the new 9.2.5.x TR when removing an object from an OMW project we get the following dialog:

DeleteSpecsDialog1.PNG

What does this mean exactly?
 

craig_welton

Legendary Poster
That's the new location for checked out objects. Since there is no local DB, checked out specs are written to F987*US tables. Saying yes to this will delete it.

Craig
 

BOster

Legendary Poster
So do I want to delete the local specs when removing from a project? Does it hurt anything if I do or do not?
 

craig_welton

Legendary Poster
Well, they are not local. They are in central objects, in a different set of tables. If you have made changes and say yes to the dialog, the changes will be lost.
 
Discover how to build no-code data integrations and business process automations.

BOster

Legendary Poster
So if I check out an object, make changes, then check in, remove from project and say "yes" I would lose changes, or only if I didn't checkin? I guess the best thing for me to do is just run several scenarios and see what happens to fully understand. In this specific case, the object was checked out/in in a different project.

In my mind they simply moved local spec DB to the server and added user and/or host to the PK. Seems like the change could have been completely invisible.
 

craig_welton

Legendary Poster
Yep, I agree that's what they did. The primary key to the *US table includes the User, so you should "see" changes from any dev machine. That's an assumption as I only have 1 dev client in the lab. I'm wondering if it cares what the F9861 check out hostname is. Probably not.

Craig
 

craig_welton

Legendary Poster
So if I check out an object, make changes, then check in, remove from project and say "yes" I would lose changes, or only if I didn't checkin? I guess the best thing for me to do is just run several scenarios and see what happens to fully understand. In this specific case, the object was checked out/in in a different project.

In my mind they simply moved local spec DB to the server and added user and/or host to the PK. Seems like the change could have been completely invisible.
Here's something I want to work out. If the local DB is gone, dev clients are accessing serialized objects from central objects. So if you are making changes on your dev machine and want to test, you'll be affecting the SO that everyone uses. Maybe there are user level SO tables.
 

BOster

Legendary Poster
I have a couple of dev machines now but they are in use so I can't test but that is something I want to look at. Too me it should be just like local specs with the only change being they are on the server - DB clients don't care where the actual DB resides. Again, in my mind this should be all but invisible (with maybe the exception to be able to move between machines) which is why the dialog asking if I wanted to delete user specs threw me for a loop.

1. Can I move between dev machines and see my changes. I think this would be limited for anything that has C source files since these are still compiled from the file system and in the case of C BSFNs edited on the local file system. BSSVs also.

2. If I modify an object w/o checking it out what happens?

3. There was some question in my mind based on discussions in another thread what happens during builds - specifically with items that are in the middle of development - does only the checked in object get picked up in the build - I certainly hope so or chaos will ensue.

4. What happens if change an object to call a new BSFN, then checkin do other devs immediately see that change w/o a build - they may not have compiled the new BSFN yet. (I think this is a restatement of your question).
 

Alex_Pastuhov

Legendary Poster
So do I want to delete the local specs when removing from a project? Does it hurt anything if I do or do not?
Probably yes: if you don't, it would leave essentially orphaned records in the DB and they are hard to get rid of centrally, because they are per-user. Of course if you made good changes, you were next supposed to check them in, before removing the objects. And so if you have, then now you do not really need those.
 
Top