Checking in a Batch Version, without the Batch program.

jimmymac

Reputable Poster
I've been doing this for many years, but would like opinions on this topic. I was told many years ago while working on E1 XE, that whenever you are checking in a new or changed Batch Version, the project should also have the Batch program that goes with it. So that if as I am now creating a new Batch Version for R09801, I should check out R09801 in the OMW project, create my new Version, then check in both the new Version and the unchanged program R09801. Basically whenever a Batch Version is on your project you should also include the program that goes with it, even though you are not changing the code in the program.

The reasoning was always 'that's how we always do it', or 'If you don't include the program, the version specs could get corrupted', etc.

Now I am working with E1 9.0, and about to create a new project where all I am doing is creating a new Batch Version of R09801. So my question is for all the experts, do I really need to also include R09801 in the project, or only the new Batch Version.

Thanks to all.

JM,

Negative. If you don't touch the Template, only move the Template into the Project with the New/Modified Version.

You should Never Check-Out an Object you are not Actively Modifying.

(db)

Hello jimmymac,

You don't have to include the template UBE in the proyect if you're going to create a new version of it. This rule is valid from Xe to current release.

Regards,

Luis.

So you're saying that "Yes" we need the object even though we only touched the version, correct?

I get the same inconsistencies in that answer, dependent upon who's doing the CNC at the client of the time.

I always put the object in there regardless, just to cover my butt. Would love for someone to actually explain why.