AS400 and SQL Views

JMR

VIP Member
Ok all you 400 gurus: I am trying to do the SQL view thing on an as400. I've done this many times with SQL Server, but this is my first attempt on the AS400.

What I've done so far:

1. Created a view using CREATE VIEW in interactive SQL. This created my object on the as400 (TESTDTA/F55TEST...a logical file).
2. Changed the authority for *PUBLIC to have *ALL authority...it auto changed to 'USER DEF' which is how other JDE logical files are defined.
3. Defined the table in JDE so it matches the definition on the 400 (did not generate table)
4. Created a BSVW

Behavior:

- On the as400, if I select * from testdta/f55test I get the results I expect
- In UTB, I can see the records in the table IF I uncheck the 'Format data' checkbox. Otherwise the window for the table does not even open.
- I created a quick test app (find browse using my new bsvw) and when I try to run the app, I get the following message:

jdecgrt: Unable to retrieve Business View information - application P55JRTST

Why does UTB not want to work when the 'Format data' checkbox is checked?
Am I right in using the CREATE VIEW command in SQL?

BTW: This is an Xe implementation

Thanks!

You don't mention -- did you build and deploy at least an update package containing this view, for both the client and the server?

There are many tricks to SQL view on the iSeries (or whatever they are calling it these days).

Make sure that all your JDE Filespec fields match those in the Iseries View (same type of fields, lengths and types)

Make sure that you have reset the security of the view - to allow JDE's pass-thru account(s) to access it

Look in your JDE.LOG - it is your friend (it really is). If there are any alignment or column-type issues, your JDE.LOG will be able to identify it for you!

(db)

Bill,

No I did not put either the TBLE or BSVW into an update package. I shouldn't have to as I am only in the testing stage and the specs for both reside on my client.

Daniel,