Can One Work Order be used for several days and post completions everyday?

Wheeler

I am new to JDE Enterprise and I need to know the following:
Can One Work Order be used for several days and post completions everyday?

We were told by a consultant that JDE must close the work order everyday. Is that true?
And if so why?
And can we keep track of items and costs effectively if the work order does not close everyday?

Yes, you can do partial completions on a work order across multiple days. Normally you would run manufacturing accounting nightly which will update your inventory and WIP accounts as transactions are completed. What costing method are you using? The only reason I can think of why you wouldn't want a work order to have partial completions across days is if you were doing something funky with costing.

I asked because we were advised by a JDE manufacturing expert that a Work Order needs to be closed before you can ship out an item from that Work Order. Is that true?

Or can items be shipped from an Open Work Order that has partial completions?

Last edited:
What's your costing method? As Russell previously noted this may be the reason for the consultant's statement. If you're using something other than Standard Costing then yes, you need to close and process the WO in order for your costs applied to the item to be correct.

P.S. Why not ask the Consultick?

if you are doing actual costing, then the work order must be closed after all costs are in. So if you want to ship product at the same time it is being produced, you will have a problem because you cannot do a partial completion of the work order to create the inventory.

Unless you run 24x7, i prefer a work order per day. It is a little "cleaner" to understand. A lot depends on how you do shop floor reporting. A lot of companies want to compare actuals to standard for a production day. Having an order open for multiple days will make that a little more difficult.

Just my two.