Record Locking Grid Records

johndanter

johndanter

Legendary Poster
Hi list,

I want to lock selected grid records in a Find Browse (that has Row Exits to perform DB actions on the GC records) and stop other users accessing them at the same time.

The users never leave the FB form. Except to click Close/Cancel. A UBE linked to a Row Exit is fired off asynchronously.
I had planned to remove the lock in the End of the UBE

Now I know all about F00095, N0000602 Reserve Object/Remove Reservation etc, and all that's fine and dandy but I've never tried this on selected grid records before, just FI forms etc.

The event I'll use to fire off the lock is Row is Selected
I'll remove the lock in a UBE that processes the record or in Row is Unselected.

Is there anywhere else I need to do this? Cancel Button? Loop through selected rows etc. Or does the cancel button automatically call the Grid is Unselected?

Has anyone else here done this? Any help would be cool and most welcome.

Thanks

John

Last edited:
I would think, since the UBE is asynchronous the removal of the lock must be done in the UBE. The user could kick off a UBE and hit close/cancel right away. You wouldn't want that to remove the reservation while the UBE is running.

Also, do you really want to kick this off when selecting the row, not a row exit? I would be concerned about firing the UBE all over the place.

Craig

Cheers Craig.

I set the lock when they highlight the row, I only launch the UBE when they click the Row Exit (I'm just trying to stop 2 people doing it at the same time)

As for where to remove the lock, I will do it in the UBE yes, but I was thinking if the user cancels their selection, where inside the APPL do I need to remove the locks that were created when the user selected the row.

I know what you mean about firing off the UBE, but believe me it's better than what they have at the moment :) All the ER logic is inside a Row Exit and it times out!
So I'm just moving the logic to the UBE