Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Adding a Currency Code to an account after transactions have been posted

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11

    Adding a Currency Code to an account after transactions have been posted

    Has anyone had experience with changing the currency code on an account that has had activity?

    All of the documentation and warnings received when adding a currency code to a previously used account indicate that "The currency code should not be changed for an existing account. Unpredictable results may occur."

    I have tested a number of scenarios and cannot determine what the warnings mean by "unpredictable results." If I make the foreign currency amount zero and then add a domestic currency code on the account, there does not seem to be a problem with further Monetary Revaluations (R09415) or Annual Closes. I have also corrected the foreign balance in an account and removed the domestic amounts unrelated to the foreign balance, and added a foreign currency code. Again, Revals and Close worked as expected.

    What other activities do I need to test? Comments on your experiences would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    SheilaV

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    131

    Re: Adding a Currency Code to an account after transactions have been posted

    Sheila,

    IMHO you are not running any risks in changing your account currency code
    (from blank to whatever) ONLY WHEN your account balance (F0902 figures) is
    zero in both AA and CA ledger types.

    Ciao,

    Carlo


    2007/11/22, SheilaV <sheila.verigin@cnrl.com>:


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    19

    Re: Adding a Currency Code to an account after transactions have been posted

    Hi Sheila,

    it won't create a tech issue in E1, but the functional practice of changing currency of an account during the year period is debatable.

  4. #4

    Re: Adding a Currency Code to an account after transactions have been posted

    Hi ShailaV,

    I am not 100% sure, but please check if it creates a new AccountID, although it maintains same BU.OBJ.SUB combination. Due to this, F0902 starts posting the balances to a different account. You might find two lines in F0902 for the same BU.OBJ.SUB combination. Therefore the Account Master to Transactions Integrity report misleads you by showing starts showing difference between F0911 and F0902 for that account where you change the currency code.

    I saw this phenomenon long back. Not tested this in the recent past.

    Best regards,
    Ajit Nadgouda

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Integrity Report Transactions w/o Account Master
    By Nate408 in forum JD Edwards® World™
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 01:07 PM
  2. Account Receivable cash receipts batch posted in wrong month
    By HAL1 in forum JD Edwards® World™
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 10:42 AM
  3. Annual Close Retained earnings Account wrong currency code
    By spgopal1975 in forum JD Edwards® EnterpriseOne
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 02:08 AM
  4. Out of balance for foreign currency transactions in GL post
    By DebReb in forum JD Edwards® World™ Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 04:28 AM
  5. RE: Currency Code Population Upon Startup of Multi-Currency
    By Rick_Harmon in forum JD Edwards® World™
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2001, 08:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site are available here.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.
JDELIST is NOT affiliated with JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft. Contents of this site are neither endorsed nor approved by JD Edwards® & Company, Oracle or Peoplesoft.